Cambridge Catalogue  
  • Help
Home > Catalogue > The Constitutional Systems of the Australian States and Territories
The Constitutional Systems of the Australian States and Territories


  • 1 map
  • Page extent: 562 pages
  • Size: 228 x 152 mm
  • Weight: 0.74 kg


 (ISBN-13: 9780521681728)

This book outlines the constitutional systems of the six Australian states and ten Commonwealth territories. It begins with their history, basic features, role and future within the Australian federation. Its primary focus is on the binding constitutional restrictions which impact on their parliaments and governments. These issues are also dealt with in relation to the three self-governing territories of the ACT, the Northern Territory and Norfolk Island. It is the only Australian legal reference work of its kind which deals specifically with the constitutional systems of the states and territories. This book is for all law students and constitutional law teachers as well as legal advisors to commonwealth, state and territory governments and parliaments. It will also be of interest to Supreme, Federal, and High Court judges, political scientists working in the area of federalism and anyone with an interest in constitutional affairs.

• Outlines the limits on State and Territory power • Only contemporary book on all six state constitutions and first legal monograph on the Australian territories • Explores the origins and future of the Australian federation


1. Introduction; 2. Constitutional evolution of the states; 3. The legislature; 4. Legislative power; 5. Repugnancy; 6. Manner and form; 7. Extraterritoriality; 8. Executive power; 9. Republic; 10. Judicial protection; 11. Commonwealth territories power; 12. Commonwealth territories.

printer iconPrinter friendly version AddThis