Skip to content
Cart

Your Cart

×

You have 0 items in your cart.

Register Sign in Wishlist

The Europeanization of Politics
The Formation of a European Electorate and Party System in Historical Perspective

£22.99

  • Date Published: September 2015
  • availability: In stock
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781107544604

£ 22.99
Paperback

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
Hardback, eBook


Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Description
Product filter button
Description
Contents
Resources
Courses
About the Authors
  • In a broadly comparative, historical and quantitative analysis, this study reveals the unity of European electorates and party systems. Investigating thirty countries in Western and Central-Eastern Europe over 150 years of electoral history, the author shows the existence of common alignments and parallel waves of electoral change across the continent. Europeanization appears through an array of indicators including cross-country deviation measures, uniform swings of votes, the correspondence between national arenas and European Parliament, as well as in the ideological convergence among parties of the same families. Based on a painstaking analysis of a large wealth of data, the study identifies the supra-national, domestic and diffusion factors at the origin of Europeanization. Building on previous work on the nationalization of politics, this new study makes the case for Europeanization in historical and electoral perspective, and points to the role of left-right in structuring the European party system along ideological rather than territorial lines. In the classical tradition of electoral and party literature, this book sheds a new light on Europe's democracy.

    • Offers an overall picture of European party politics in both national elections and elections to the European Parliament
    • Analysis is based on quantitative indicators and therefore is more precise than previous attempts based on narrative and qualitative analysis
    • The first book to analyze Europeanization with these indicators
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    'To what degree have political ideologies in different European nations converged over time? Are national politics becoming European politics? In this book, Daniele Caramani provides a deeply informed, insightful, and persuasive account of how national cleavages, party politics, and electoral behavior have been transformed across Europe since the nineteenth century. The result is an immense contribution to our understanding of the political development of Europe.' Gary Marks, Burton Craige Distinguished Professor, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and Research Chair in Multilevel Governance, VU Amsterdam

    'With this book, Caramani, the authority on party nationalization in Europe, extends his ideas and methodological tools to explore Europeanization. In spite of many cross-national differences, Caramani convincingly argues about the commonality among voters and parties across Europe. By weaving together a wealth of electoral, survey, and other types of data, the book provides a weighty and informative analysis.' Scott Morgenstern, University of Pittsburgh

    'In the tradition of Stein Rokkan, Caramani's work seeks broad scope and long reach in portraying the development of party system configurations in Europe. Caramani's study is a necessary and welcome foundation to more fine-grained analysis of strategic interaction among parties. His research uncovers lasting patterns and slow-moving trends across European democracies, such as the early development of matching cleavage alignments and cohesion within party families or over-time swings in the fortunes of party families across Europe, as well as the correspondence of programmatic configurations of parties at both the European and the national system levels. Any investigation of democratic party competition will have to draw on Caramani's findings.' Herbert Kitschelt, George V. Allen Professor of International Relations, Duke University

    See more reviews

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity

    ×

    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?

    ×

    Product details

    • Date Published: September 2015
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781107544604
    • length: 363 pages
    • dimensions: 229 x 152 x 20 mm
    • weight: 0.49kg
    • contains: 59 b/w illus. 46 tables
    • availability: In stock
  • Table of Contents

    Introduction: electoral integration in Europe
    Part I. Framework:
    1. Theoretical framework: Europeanization in historical perspective
    2. Research design: European party families and party systems
    Part II. Analysis:
    3. Homogeneity: convergence and deviation in European electoral development, 1848–2012
    4. Uniformity: electoral waves and electoral swings across Europe, 1848–2012
    5. Correspondence: overlapping vs distinctive electorates in national and European elections, 1974‒2012
    6. Cohesion: ideological convergence within European party families, 1945–2009
    7. Closure: the Europeanization of cabinet and coalition politics, 1945‒2009
    Part III. Assessment:
    8. Sources of Europeanization: supra-, within-, and trans-national
    Explanations
    Conclusion: toward European-wide representation.

  • Author

    Daniele Caramani, Universität Zürich
    Daniele Caramani is Professor of Comparative Politics at the University of Zurich. He holds a PhD from the European University Institute in Florence, where he has also been a Jean Monnet Fellow. He has held positions at the University of Mannheim in Germany, the University of Birmingham in England, and the University of St Gallen in Switzerland. He is the author of Elections in Western Europe since 1815: Electoral Results by Constituencies (2000), The Nationalization of Politics (2004), and Introduction to the Comparative Method with Boolean Algebra (2009). He edited the textbook Comparative Politics, 3rd edition (2014) and regularly publishes in leading political science journals. He received the UNESCO's Stein Rokkan Prize for Comparative Research in the Social Sciences in 2004 and the Data Set Award for the Constituency-Level Data Archive (CLEA) in 2012.

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account

Cancel

Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email lecturers@cambridge.org

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner www.ebooks.com. Please see the permission section of the www.ebooks.com catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.

Cancel

Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

×
Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.
×