Skip to content

Your Cart


You have 0 items in your cart.

Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside A Child's History of England

A Child's History of England

Volume 1


Part of Cambridge Library Collection - Education

  • Date Published: March 2015
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781108076777

£ 18.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • This three-volume history of England from before the Roman conquest through to the Glorious Revolution of 1688 was originally serialised in Charles Dickens' magazine Household Words between 1851 and 1853. The text was published in book form in the same period, although each volume was post-dated to the following year. Dickens dedicated the work to his own children, intending it to be a stepping stone to more substantial histories. The volumes were popular with readers for decades, and were used in British schools well into the twentieth century. Dickens employs his signature style to bring events and personalities to life, making use of vivid similes, unabashedly partisan language and direct speech, as well as the occasional moral lesson. Volume 1 covers the period from the campaigns of Julius Caesar up to the close of the reign of the 'miserable brute' King John.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: March 2015
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781108076777
    • length: 228 pages
    • dimensions: 216 x 140 x 13 mm
    • weight: 0.3kg
    • contains: 1 b/w illus.
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Ancient England and the Romans
    2. Ancient England under the early Saxons
    3. England under the good Saxon, Alfred, and Edward the Elder
    4. England under Athelstan and the six boy-kings
    5. England under Canute the Dane
    6. England under Harold Harefoot, Hardicanute, and Edward the Confessor
    7. England under Harold the Second, and conquered by the Normans
    8. England under William the First, the Norman conqueror
    9. England under William the Second, called Rufus
    10. England under Henry the First, called Fine-Scholar
    11. England under Matilda and Stephen
    12. England under Henry the Second
    13. England under Richard the First, called the Lion-Heart
    14. England under John, called Lackland.

  • Author

    Charles Dickens

Browse by related subject

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.