Skip to content

Your Cart


You have 0 items in your cart.

Register Sign in Wishlist

Ernest Bloch Studies

$99.99 (C)

Part of Cambridge Composer Studies

  • Editors:
  • Alexander Knapp, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London
  • Norman Solomon, The Oriental Institute, University of Oxford
Ernest Bloch, II, Alexander Knapp, Stanley Henig, Norman Solomon, Klára Móricz, Malcolm Miller, David Schiller, David Z. Kushner, Philip V. Bohlman, Jehoash Hirshberg, Zecharia Plavin
View all contributors
  • Date Published: April 2017
  • availability: In stock
  • format: Hardback
  • isbn: 9781107039094

$ 99.99 (C)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Ernest Bloch left his native Switzerland to settle in the United States in 1916. One of the great twentieth-century composers, he was influenced by a range of genres and styles - Jewish, American and Swiss - and his works reflect his lifelong struggle with his identity. Drawing on firsthand recollections of relatives and others who knew and worked with the composer, this collection is the most comprehensive study to date of Bloch's life, musical achievement and reception. Contributors present the latest research on Bloch's works and compositional practice, including studies of his Avodath Hakodesh (Sacred Service), violin pieces such as Nigun, the symphonic Schelomo, and the opera Macbeth. Setting the quality and significance of Bloch's output in its historical and cultural contexts, this book provides scholarly analyses as well as a full chronology, list of online resources, catalogue of published and unpublished works, and selected further reading.

    • Essays by leading scholars on Bloch cover all periods of his creative output and its reception around the world
    • Offers unique insights, through firsthand knowledge, into the composer's character and personal development
    • Provides a reliable and comprehensive resource for Bloch and his music, correcting errors in previous sources
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: April 2017
    • format: Hardback
    • isbn: 9781107039094
    • length: 310 pages
    • dimensions: 253 x 180 x 20 mm
    • weight: 0.91kg
    • contains: 12 b/w illus. 1 table 34 music examples
    • availability: In stock
  • Table of Contents

    Foreword: reminiscences of my grandfather Ernest Bloch, II
    Alphabetical list of Bloch's published and unpublished works Alexander Knapp
    Bloch resources: recordings in the age of the Internet Stanley Henig
    Introduction Norman Solomon
    1. From Geneva to New York: radical changes in Ernest Bloch's view of himself as a 'Jewish composer' during his twenties and thirties Alexander Knapp
    2. The 'suffering and greatness' of Ernest Bloch: concepts of the composer as genius Klára Móricz
    3. Bloch, Wagner and creativity: refutation and vindication Malcolm Miller
    4. Sacred service: the mass Bloch never wrote, the two that Leonard Bernstein did write, and Shulamit Ran's Credo/Ani Ma'Amin David Schiller
    5. Oregon years: the man and his music David Z. Kushner
    6. 'The future alone will be the judge': Ernest Bloch's epic journeys between Utopia and Dystopia Philip V. Bohlman
    7. The reception of Bloch's music in Palestine/Israel to 1948 Jehoash Hirshberg
    8. Bloch's reception and his standing in Israel since 1954 Zecharia Plavin
    9. A performance history of Bloch's opera Macbeth: Paris 1910-Manhattan 2014 Stanley Henig
    10. King Solomon and the Baal Shem Tov: traditional elements in Bloch's musical representation of two iconic personalities from Jewish history Alexander Knapp
    11. Postscript: the legacy Norman Solomon.

  • Editors

    Alexander Knapp, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London
    Alexander Knapp was the Joe Loss Lecturer in Jewish Music at the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, until his retirement in 2006. His numerous articles on Jewish music, and Bloch, have been published in journals including Proceedings of the Royal Musical Association, the Journal of the American Musicological Society and Musica Judaica. His Anthology of Essays in Jewish Music (Youtai Yinyue Lunwenji) was published by the Chinese Academy of Arts in 1998. A trustee of the Jewish Music Institute, his awards include a Winston Churchill Travelling Fellowship to North America to study religious art.

    Norman Solomon, The Oriental Institute, University of Oxford
    Norman Solomon was Lecturer in Jewish Studies at the University of Oxford until his retirement in 2001. Prior to that, he spent 22 years as a rabbi and 11 years based at the University of Birmingham involved with international activity in inter-religious dialogue. His publications include Judaism and World Religion (1991), The Analytic Movement (1993), A Very Short Introduction to Judaism (2nd edition, 2014), Historical Dictionary of Judaism (3rd edition, 2015) and Torah from Heaven (2012). His honours include the Sir Sigmund Sternberg CCJ Award in Christian-Jewish Relations (1993) and the Distinguished Service Medal of the University of San Francisco (2000).


    Ernest Bloch, II, Alexander Knapp, Stanley Henig, Norman Solomon, Klára Móricz, Malcolm Miller, David Schiller, David Z. Kushner, Philip V. Bohlman, Jehoash Hirshberg, Zecharia Plavin

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.