Cambridge Catalog  
  • Your account
  • View basket
  • Help
Home > Catalog > Performing Brahms
Performing Brahms
Google Book Search

Search this book



  • 10 b/w illus. 139 music examples
  • Page extent: 408 pages
  • Size: 247 x 174 mm
  • Weight: 0.895 kg

Library of Congress

  • Dewey number: 781.4/3/09034
  • Dewey version: 22
  • LC Classification: ML410.B8 P28 2003
  • LC Subject headings:
    • Brahms, Johannes,--1833-1897--Criticism and interpretation
    • Performance practice (Music)--History--19th century
    • Brahms, Johannes,--1833-1897--Critique et interprétation
    • Pratique de l'exécution (Musique)--Histoire--19e siècle

Library of Congress Record

Add to basket

1 CD-Audio, 1 Hardback

 (ISBN-13: 9780521652735 | ISBN-10: 0521652731)

  • Published October 2003

In stock

$162.00 (C)

Although the music of Brahms is central to the lives of classical performers and listeners, few know how Brahms and his contemporaries performed his music. This study brings most of the available evidence into a single volume, along with commentary by leading Brahms experts. Most importantly, the book contains an unique CD of historic recordings--including an actual performance by Brahms--which provides tangible insight and a greater appreciation of the composer.


Introduction; 1. How different was Brahms's playing style from our own? Bernard D. Sherman; 2. Performing Brahms's music: clues from his letters Styra Avins; 3. Joachim's violin playing and the performance of Brahms's string music Clive Brown; 4. Metronome marks and timings Bernard D. Sherman; 5. Performance issues in A German Requiem Michael Musgrave with Appendix: 'Ein deutsches Requiem', Siegfried Ochs, introduced and translated by Michael Musgrave; 6. Fanny Davies and Brahms's late chamber music George S. Bozarth; 7. Flexible tempo and nuancing in orchestral music: Understanding Brahms's view of interpretation in his Second Piano Concerto and Fourth Symphony Robert Pascall and Philip Weller; 8. Brahms in the Meiningen Tradition: His Symphonies and Haydn Variations in the Markings by Fritz Steinbach Edited by Walter Blume, Excerpt: The First Symphony Walter Frisch (translation and introduction); 9. In search of Brahms's First Symphony: Steinbach, the Meiningen tradition and the recordings of Hermann Abendroth Walter Frisch; 10. Early trends in the recorded performance of Brahms's music Michael Musgrave; 11. Performing Brahms in the Style Hongrois Jonathan Bellman; 12. Brahms's musical world: balancing the evidence Robert Philip; Appendix: Introduction to supplementary CD and list of contents; Discography.

Prize Winner

ARSC: Best Research in Recorded Classical Music


Bernard D. Sherman, Styra Avins, Clive Brown, Michael Musgrave, Siegfried Ochs, George S. Bozarth, Robert Pascall, Philip Weller, Walter Frisch, Jonathan Bellman, Robert Philip

printer iconPrinter friendly version AddThis