Cambridge Catalog  
  • Your account
  • View basket
  • Help
Home > Catalog > The Experimental Foundations of Particle Physics
The Experimental Foundations of Particle Physics


  • 69 b/w illus.
  • Page extent: 566 pages
  • Size: 247 x 174 mm
  • Weight: 1.24 kg

Library of Congress

  • Dewey number: n/a
  • Dewey version: n/a
  • LC Classification: QC793.2 .C34 2009
  • LC Subject headings:
    • Particles (Nuclear physics)

Library of Congress Record

Add to basket


 (ISBN-13: 9780521521475)

Manufactured on demand: supplied direct from the printer

$98.00 (P)

Our current understanding of elementary particles and their interactions emerged from break-through experiments. This book presents these experiments, beginning with the discoveries of the neutron and positron, and following them through mesons, strange particles, antiparticles, and quarks and gluons. This second edition contains new chapters on the W and Z bosons, the top quark, B-meson mixing and CP violation, and neutrino oscillations. This book provides an insight into particle physics for researchers, advanced undergraduate and graduate students. Throughout the book, the fundamental equations required to understand the experiments are derived clearly and simply. Each chapter is accompanied by reprinted articles and a collection of problems with a broad range of difficulty.


1. The atom completed and a new particle; 2. The Muon and the Pion; 3. Strangeness; 4. Antibaryons; 5. The resonances; 6. Weak interactions; 7. The Neutral Kaon System; 8. The Structure of the Nucleon; 9. The J/Ψ, the Γ, and charm; 10. Quarks, Gluons, and Jets; 11. The Fifth Quark; 12. From Neutral Currents to Weak Vector Bosons; 13. Testing the Standard Model; 14. The top quark; 15. Mixing and CP violation in heavy quark mesons; 16. Neutrino masses and oscillations; 17. Epilogue; Index.

printer iconPrinter friendly version AddThis