Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
The Cambridge Companion to Bruckner

The Cambridge Companion to Bruckner


Part of Cambridge Companions to Music

John Williamson, Andrea Harrandt, Paul Hawkshaw, A. Crawford Howie, Derek B. Scott, Benjamin M. Korstvedt, Julian Horton, Margaret Notley, Kevin Swinden, Christa Brüstle
View all contributors
  • Date Published: July 2004
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521008785

$ 34.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
Hardback, eBook

Looking for an evaluation copy?

This title is not currently available for evaluation. However, if you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an evaluation copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • This Companion provides an overview of the composer Anton Bruckner (1824–1896). Sixteen chapters by leading scholars investigate aspects of his life and works and consider the manner in which critical appreciation has changed in the twentieth century. The first section deals with Bruckner's Austrian background, investigating the historical circumstances in which he worked, his upbringing in Upper Austria, and his career in Vienna. A number of misunderstandings are dealt with in the light of recent research. The remainder of the book covers Bruckner's career as church musician and symphonist, with a chapter on the neglected secular vocal music. Religious, aesthetic, formal, harmonic, and instrumental aspects are considered, while one chapter confronts the problem of the editions of the symphonies. Two concluding chapters discuss the symphonies in performance, and the history of Bruckner-reception with particular reference to German Nationalism, the Third Reich and the appropriation of Bruckner by the Nazis.

    • Considers the historical context of Austria and Germany in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries
    • Provides many different perspectives on the music, particularly the symphonies
    • Contains essays by British, American and German scholars, presenting the latest critical views
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: July 2004
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521008785
    • length: 328 pages
    • dimensions: 246 x 174 x 17 mm
    • weight: 0.55kg
    • contains: 3 tables 36 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Part I. Background:
    1. Introduction: a Catholic composer in the age of Bismarck John Williamson
    2. Musical life in Upper Austria in the mid-nineteenth century Andrea Harrandt
    3. Bruckner in Vienna Andrea Harrandt
    Part II. Choral Music:
    4. Bruckner's large sacred compositions Paul Hawkshaw
    5. Bruckner and the motet A. Crawford Howie
    6. Bruckner and secular vocal music A. Crawford Howie
    Part III. The Symphonist:
    7. The Brucknerian symphony: an overview John Williamson
    8. Bruckner's symphonies - a reinterpretation: the dialectic of darkness and light Derek B. Scott
    9. Programme symphony and absolute music John Williamson
    10. Bruckner editions: the revolution revisited Benjamin M. Korstvedt
    11. Bruckner and the symphony orchestra Julian Horton
    12. Between formlessness and formality: aspects of Bruckner's approach to symphonic form Benjamin M. Korstvedt
    13. Formal process as spiritual progress: the symphonic slow movements Margaret Notley
    14. Bruckner and Harmony Kevin Swinden
    Part IV. Reception:
    15. Conductors and Bruckner John Williamson
    16. The musical image of Bruckner Christa Brüstle.

  • Editor

    John Williamson, University of Liverpool
    John Williamson is Reader in Music at the University of Liverpool. He is author of The Music of Hans Pfitzner (1992) and the Cambridge Music Handbook Strauss: Also sprach Zarathustra (1993).


    John Williamson, Andrea Harrandt, Paul Hawkshaw, A. Crawford Howie, Derek B. Scott, Benjamin M. Korstvedt, Julian Horton, Margaret Notley, Kevin Swinden, Christa Brüstle

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.