Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

The Bloch–Kato Conjecture for the Riemann Zeta Function

AUD$105.95 inc GST

Part of London Mathematical Society Lecture Note Series

A. Raghuram, R. Sujatha, John Coates, Anupam Saikia, Manfred Kolster, Stephen Lichtenbaum, Ralph Greenberg, T. Nguyen Quang Do, Don Blasius, Annette Huber, Guido Kings
View all contributors
  • Date Published: March 2015
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781107492967

AUD$ 105.95 inc GST

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an inspection copy?

Please email to enquire about an inspection copy of this book

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • There are still many arithmetic mysteries surrounding the values of the Riemann zeta function at the odd positive integers greater than one. For example, the matter of their irrationality, let alone transcendence, remains largely unknown. However, by extending ideas of Garland, Borel proved that these values are related to the higher K-theory of the ring of integers. Shortly afterwards, Bloch and Kato proposed a Tamagawa number-type conjecture for these values, and showed that it would follow from a result in motivic cohomology which was unknown at the time. This vital result from motivic cohomology was subsequently proven by Huber, Kings, and Wildeshaus. Bringing together key results from K-theory, motivic cohomology, and Iwasawa theory, this book is the first to give a complete proof, accessible to graduate students, of the Bloch–Kato conjecture for odd positive integers. It includes a new account of the results from motivic cohomology by Huber and Kings.

    • Brings together results scattered throughout the literature to present a proof of the Bloch–Kato conjecture for the Riemann zeta function at odd positive integers
    • Includes a new approach to the key motivic arguments needed for the proof, which is proving useful in the study of L-functions
    • Reminds mathematicians that we still do not know many key questions about these zeta values, and their p-adic analogues
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: March 2015
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781107492967
    • length: 320 pages
    • dimensions: 228 x 153 x 18 mm
    • weight: 0.46kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    List of contributors
    Preface A. Raghuram
    1. Special values of the Riemann zeta function: some results and conjectures A. Raghuram
    2. K-theoretic background R. Sujatha
    3. Values of the Riemann zeta function at the odd positive integers and Iwasawa theory John Coates
    4. Explicit reciprocity law of Bloch–Kato and exponential maps Anupam Saikia
    5. The norm residue theorem and the Quillen–Lichtenbaum conjecture Manfred Kolster
    6. Regulators and zeta functions Stephen Lichtenbaum
    7. Soulé's theorem Stephen Lichtenbaum
    8. Soulé's regulator map Ralph Greenberg
    9. On the determinantal approach to the Tamagawa number conjecture T. Nguyen Quang Do
    10. Motivic polylogarithm and related classes Don Blasius
    11. The comparison theorem for the Soulé–Deligne classes Annette Huber
    12. Eisenstein classes, elliptic Soulé elements and the ℓ-adic elliptic polylogarithm Guido Kings
    13. Postscript R. Sujatha.

  • Editors

    John Coates, University of Cambridge
    John Coates was Sadleirian Professor of Pure Mathematics at the University of Cambridge from 1986 until 2012. Most of his research has focused on the mysterious, and still largely conjectural, connections between special values of L-functions and purely arithmetic questions, largely via the p-adic techniques of Iwasawa theory. Professor Coates was elected a fellow of the Royal Society of London in 1985, and served as President of the London Mathematical Society from 1988 to 1990. He was awarded the Senior Whitehead Prize by the London Mathematical Society in 1997.

    A. Raghuram, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune
    A. Raghuram is the Coordinator for Mathematics at the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER) at Pune. Previously, he was a tenured faculty member of the Department of Mathematics at Oklahoma State University. He has also held various visiting positions at the University of Iowa, Purdue University, and the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in Germany. Professor Raghuram's research interests concern the arithmetic properties of automorphic forms. He uses analytic methods in the Langlands Program and geometric tools from the cohomology of arithmetic groups to study the special values of L-functions. His research has been supported by the National Science Foundation, USA, and the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany.

    Anupam Saikia, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati
    Anupam Saikia is an Associate Professor in the Department of Mathematics at the Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati. Previously, he was a William Hodge Fellow at IHES, France, and a CRM-ISM postdoctoral fellow at McGill University after completing his PhD at DPMMS, University of Cambridge. The main theme of his research is Iwasawa theory of cyclotomic fields, elliptic curves and p-adic measures.

    R. Sujatha, University of British Columbia, Vancouver
    R. Sujatha is a Professor at the University of British Columbia, Vancouver. She conducts research in the broad area of algebraic number theory and has authored articles on the algebraic theory of quadratic forms, Iwasawa theory, and the study of motives. Professor Sujatha co-authored the book Cyclotomic Fields and Zeta Values (Springer 2006) with John Coates and has edited two others. She is a fellow of the Indian National Science Academy, the Indian Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences, India. Her awards include the ICTP Ramanujan Prize and the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award.


    A. Raghuram, R. Sujatha, John Coates, Anupam Saikia, Manfred Kolster, Stephen Lichtenbaum, Ralph Greenberg, T. Nguyen Quang Do, Don Blasius, Annette Huber, Guido Kings

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×
warning icon

Turn stock notifications on?

You must be signed in to your Cambridge account to turn product stock notifications on or off.

Sign in Create a Cambridge account arrow icon

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.