Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside The Films of Orson Welles

The Films of Orson Welles

$27.99 (P)

Part of Cambridge Film Classics

  • Date Published: March 2004
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521649728

$ 27.99 (P)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an examination copy?

This title is not currently available for examination. However, if you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Offering a comprehensive overview of Orson Welles' life and career, this book highlights the filmmaker's career, emphasizing his astonishing precocity and extraordinary talent that resulted in great success as well as puzzling failure. At the core of the book are sustained studies of Welles' masterpieces, Citizen Kane and The Magnificent Ambersons, and critically incisive accounts of his other major films, The Lady from Shanghai, Touch of Evil, Othello, Macbeth, and Chimes at Midnight.

    • Combines biography and criticism in its focus on Welles' career
    • Original, fresh accounts of the making of Welles' major films
    • Explores the adaptation of literature in Welles' films
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    "This books commentary of Welles and his films reveals Gariss deep knowledge of the subjectthose wishing to know more about how the films worked or did not work should read this book." Choice

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: March 2004
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521649728
    • length: 200 pages
    • dimensions: 229 x 152 x 12 mm
    • weight: 0.3kg
    • contains: 36 b/w illus.
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Career overview
    2. Citizen Kane
    3. The Magnificent Ambersons
    4. The Lady from Shanghai
    5. Touch of Evil
    6. Welles' Shakespeare.

  • Author

    Robert Garis, Wellesley College, Massachusetts

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×
warning icon

Turn stock notifications on?

You must be signed in to your Cambridge account to turn product stock notifications on or off.

Sign in Create a Cambridge account arrow icon

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.