Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside The Films of Peter Greenaway

The Films of Peter Greenaway

$46.99 (P)

Part of Cambridge Film Classics

  • Date Published: October 1997
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521479196

$ 46.99 (P)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an examination copy?

This title is not currently available for examination. However, if you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • The Films of Peter Greenaway is the first critical overview of one of the most controversial contemporary film-makers. Trained as an artist, Greenaway began his career in cinema as an editor of government-sponsored films. He began to attract critical attention in 1980 with his epic mock-documentary The Falls, the first British film to be named Best Film by the British Film Institute in 30 years. Since then he has created the wittily elegant The Draughtsman's Contract, the strikingly unconventional Shakespearean adaptation Prospero's Books, and the disturbingly violent The Cook, The Thief, His Wife and Her Lover. In-depth analyses of these and several other of Greenaway's most important works are examined within the context of the director's biography and artistic goals. This edition also includes stills from Greenaway's feature films, as well as his own drawings.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: October 1997
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521479196
    • length: 240 pages
    • dimensions: 227 x 152 x 16 mm
    • weight: 0.34kg
    • contains: 27 b/w illus.
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Introduction: Encyclopaedia Britannica
    1. The Falls (1980)
    2. The Draughtsman's Contract (1982)
    3. A Zed and Two Noughts (1985)
    4. Drowning by Numbers (1988)
    5. An Englishman abroad: The Belly of an Architect (1986)
    6. Daddy dearest: patriarchy and the artist, Prospero's Books (1991)
    7. Shock tactics: The Cook, The Thief, His Wife and Her Lover (1989)
    Selected bibliography.

  • Author

    Amy Lawrence, Dartmouth College, Vermont

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×
warning icon

Turn stock notifications on?

You must be signed in to your Cambridge account to turn product stock notifications on or off.

Sign in Create a Cambridge account arrow icon

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.