Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
The Letters of John B. S. Morritt of Rokeby

The Letters of John B. S. Morritt of Rokeby
Descriptive of Journeys in Europe and Asia Minor in the Years 1794–1796

$37.99 (R)

Part of Cambridge Library Collection - Classics

  • Date Published: December 2011
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781108042222

$ 37.99 (R)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an examination copy?

This title is not currently available for examination. However, if you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • This works is an account by John Bacon Sawrey Morritt (1771–1843), traveller, classical scholar and friend of Sir Walter Scott, of his Grand Tour during the years 1794–6. His letters home were edited by G. E. Marindin (1841–1939) and published in 1914. In 1790 Morritt inherited the Rokeby estate, County Durham, and came into a considerable fortune. Educated at St John's College, Cambridge, he graduated in 1794, and soon afterwards set out for the continent. Visiting Constantinople, Troy, the Greek islands, Crete, Naples, Rome and Venice, Morritt developed a lifelong passion for European art and culture (he purchased the Rokeby Venus in 1813). He was well-read in Greek and Latin literature, had a considerable taste for antiquarian research, and was undeterred by the dangers of traversing Europe during the French Revolutionary Wars. According to his editor, 'it would be difficult to imagine a better traveller'.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: December 2011
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781108042222
    • length: 348 pages
    • dimensions: 216 x 140 x 20 mm
    • weight: 0.44kg
    • contains: 6 b/w illus.
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Journey from Ostend to Dresden
    2. Vienna - the Polish insurrection
    3. Journey from Vienna to Constantinople, with some digressions about Vienna and Styria
    4. Constantinople
    5. Travels in Asia Minor and Samos
    6. The Troad and the site of the Homeric Troy: the Islands of Chios and Lesbos
    7. From Athos and Salonica through Thessaly and Boeotia: Athens
    8. Through the Morea, including the territory of the Mainotes in Laconia
    9. Aegean Islands: Crete
    10. Olympia and the Ionian Islands
    11. Naples
    12. From Rome, through Trieste and Vienna, to Cuxhaven

  • Author

    John B. S. Morritt


    George Eden Marindin

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×
warning icon

Turn stock notifications on?

You must be signed in to your Cambridge account to turn product stock notifications on or off.

Sign in Create a Cambridge account arrow icon

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.