Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
The Music of John Cage

The Music of John Cage

$32.99 (G)

Part of Music in the Twentieth Century

  • Date Published: April 1996
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521565448

$ 32.99 (G)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an examination copy?

This title is not currently available for examination. However, if you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Although John Cage has been almost universally recognised as the leading figure of the post-war musical avant-garde, this is the first book to present a complete and coherent picture of Cage the composer. Providing a historical account of Cage's musical concerns and changing style, James Pritchett describes just what it was Cage did and why and how he did it. The book is centred around extensive descriptions of the most important works and compositional techniques, including in-depth explanations of the role of chance and indeterminacy in Cage's music. Dr Pritchett also considers the relationship of Cage's musical thought to his interests in such diverse subjects as Eastern philosophy and religion, Marshall McLuhan, and anarchism (among many others). This book thus makes the essential introduction to Cage's musical world.

    • The first book to offer a full account of Cage's music
    • Provides full cultural, intellectual and biographical background
    • Cage himself said on reading draft chapters of this book 'It reads like a novel'
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    'Thus we find detailed and generally thorough, consideration of not just Cage's music and the techniques it employs but also the sources of the ideological standpoints from which the music is derived.' Music and Letters

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: April 1996
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521565448
    • length: 240 pages
    • dimensions: 235 x 191 x 13 mm
    • weight: 0.42kg
    • contains: 53 b/w illus.
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. 'For more new sounds' (1933–1948)
    2. 'To sober and quiet the mind...' (1946–1951)
    3. 'Throwing sound into silence' (1951–1956)
    4. Indeterminacy (1957–1961)
    5. 'Music (not composition)' (1962–1969)
    6. 'Joy and bewilderment' (1969–1992).

  • Author

    James Pritchett

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.