Skip to main content
×
Home
  • Get access
    Check if you have access via personal or institutional login
  • Cited by 5
  • Cited by
    This chapter has been cited by the following publications. This list is generated based on data provided by CrossRef.

    Petrucci, Federico M. 2017. A Discussion of M. Bonazzi, À la recherche des idées. Mnemosyne,


    Kechagia-Ovseiko, Eleni 2013. A Companion to Plutarch. p. 104.

    Tuominen, Miira 2012. Philosophy of the Ancient Commentators on Aristotle. Philosophy Compass, Vol. 7, Issue. 12, p. 852.


    Bénatouïl, Thomas 2012. A Companion to Ancient Philosophy. p. 413.

    2012. Pneuma and Realized Eschatology in the Book of Wisdom. p. 245.

    ×
  • Print publication year: 1999
  • Online publication date: March 2008

Epilogue

from PART V - ETHICS AND POLITICS
Summary

The schools which dominated the philosophy of the Hellenistic age did not disintegrate or disappear with the end of the Hellenistic era, but for the most part continued to exist well into Imperial times. This certainly is true of the two schools which came into existence only at the beginning of the Hellenistic period, and which in their very origin have a distinctive Hellenistic character, the Stoa and Epicurus’ Garden. We can produce a long list of distinguished Stoic philosophers stretching well into the third century AD: a list that includes Seneca, Epictetus, and Marcus Aurelius. The Epicureans are less conspicuous in Imperial times, but, again, the list is fairly long, including e.g. Diogenes of Oenoanda in the second century AD. The generalization is also true of the two older schools. Indeed the Peripatos, which had lost some of its prominence and influence in Hellenistic times, saw a revival in the Empire, largely by returning to Aristotle, but without entirely shedding the Hellenistic heritage.

More complicated is the case of Plato's Academy. The debate in philosophy in Hellenistic times was crucially shaped by the fact that the Academy under Arcesilaus turned sceptical, and by the dominance of scepticism in the school until the time of Philo of Larissa and Antiochus early in the first century BC, when Platonism re-emerged. So here there was a break of continuity at the end of the Hellenistic era. But it was not a complete break. There continued to be philosophers, like Favorinus of Arelate, who saw themselves as in the tradition of Arcesilaus and Carneades.

Recommend this book

Email your librarian or administrator to recommend adding this book to your organisation's collection.

The Cambridge History of Hellenistic Philosophy
  • Online ISBN: 9781139053617
  • Book DOI: https://doi.org/10.1017/CHOL9780521250283
Please enter your name
Please enter a valid email address
Who would you like to send this to? *
×
Moraux P. (1973) Der Aristotelismus bei den Griechen von Andronikos von Rhodos bis Alexander von Aphrodisias Bd. 1, Die Renaissance des Aristotelismus im I. Jh. v. Chr., Peripatoi 5 (Berlin/New York).