- Publisher: Cambridge University Press
- Online publication date: October 2010
- Print publication year: 2010
- First published in: 1934
- Online ISBN: 9780511707155
- Book DOI: https://doi.org/10.1017/CBO9780511707155
First published in 1934, this book is a history of Christ's College, Cambridge, from its foundation in 1437, through its relocation to its current site, up to the charter of 1505. The original college, founded by parochial rector William Byngham, was named God's House and occupied a site which is now part of King's College. It was given its first royal licence in 1446 and moved to its present site in 1448. The college received its present name and charter when it was refounded in 1505 by Lady Margaret Beaufort, the mother of King Henry VII. This book recounts the history of Christ's during this period, using archival evidence and illustrations to offer a fascinating picture of the less well known early stages of the college's development.
* Views captured on Cambridge Core between September 2016 - 24th May 2017. This data will be updated every 24 hours.