Hostname: page-component-7d684dbfc8-hffkp Total loading time: 0 Render date: 2023-09-24T07:59:04.362Z Has data issue: false Feature Flags: { "corePageComponentGetUserInfoFromSharedSession": true, "coreDisableEcommerce": false, "coreDisableSocialShare": false, "coreDisableEcommerceForArticlePurchase": false, "coreDisableEcommerceForBookPurchase": false, "coreDisableEcommerceForElementPurchase": false, "coreUseNewShare": true, "useRatesEcommerce": true } hasContentIssue false

Alice Mary Smith, Symphonies. Recent Researches in the Music of the Nineteenth and Early Twentieth Centuries, 38, edited by Ian Graham-Jones (Middleton WI: A-R Editions, 2003). ISBN 0-89579-550-7. xii + 349 pp. $170

Published online by Cambridge University Press:  13 April 2011

Jürgen Schaarwächter
Max Reger Institute, Karlsruhe


Image of the first page of this content. For PDF version, please use the ‘Save PDF’ preceeding this image.'
Score Reviews
Copyright © Cambridge University Press 2005

Access options

Get access to the full version of this content by using one of the access options below. (Log in options will check for institutional or personal access. Content may require purchase if you do not have access.)


1 A third symphony by Smith is listed in The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (London, 2001)Google Scholar and New Grove Dictionary of Women Composers though no trace of this work has been found by the editor (see p. xi).

2 See also Scholes, P., The Mirror of Music, 1844–1944 (London, 1947), 199200Google Scholar . Weist-Hill was musical director and organist at the Alexandra Palace.

3 This is evident from the information written by Smith's husband on the front cover of the score: ‘A. M. W. Written for, but not sent in in time, & so did not compete for the prize offered for a symphony by the Alexra Palace Cn.’ The inscription is dated 13 January 1885.