Editorial

The Millennium seems to have spurred authors on to write as the *Journal* has received 626 papers this year and has published 258. Three supplements have been published: Congenital malformations of the ears and cochlear implantation in children, Window of the ear: Barbara Hepworth and the fenestration series of drawings and Proceedings of the 2nd International Auditory Brainstem Symposium. There has been a gratifying improvement in the presentation of manuscripts indicating that most authors are now following the instructions to authors. Key words, too, are now becoming more accurate but there are still many authors who simply make them up rather than follow MeSH.

The 2000 *JLO* Travelling Fellowship was awarded to Mr N Molony who visited Dr Philippe Contencein in Paris. We look forward to publishing his report in the coming months.

We are sorry to announce that Mrs Carol Wengraf is retiring from the post of Assistant Editor. We are very grateful to her for her devotion to the *Journal* over 12 years and are pleased that she has agreed to remain on the Board of Directors. Professor Sir Donald Harrison has recently retired from the Board. We shall miss his wisdom and advice over many years.

During the year we have welcomed Matthew Yung, Julian Rowe-Jones, Neil Tolley and Paul Montgomery as Assistant Editors, Susan Snashall as an Adviser in Audiology and Professor John Bradfield as an Adviser in Pathology.

Our first year with our new publishers RSM Press has been very satisfactory and we are grateful to Peter Richardson, Delia Siedle and Lisa Colledge for effecting a smooth transition.

The following have kindly acted as referees during 2000. We are grateful to them for the time they have given to the *Journal*.

- D Albert G Bates Professor BA Bell J Bennett Professor J Bradfield G Buckley P Bull Professor RY Cartwright A Clifton Professor R Coles Professor M Cook H Daya A Drake-Lee C East
- P Ellis R Felix Professor G Ferns K Gibbin R Gray Professor M Harris Professor M Haggard J Leigh R Mills Anne Moore Professor A Newland Valerie Newton G O'Donoghue A Pahor
- A Parker A Pritchard N Taylor G Robbins S Saeed K Sirimanna Susan Snashall N Solomons J Topham S Whitaker P Wilkins Julia Woolgar

For those of you who have not yet discovered us in the e-world the *Journal* is now available free online to subscribers at http://www.jlo.co.uk. Please visit us there.

More than ever we are much indebted to Gillian Goldfarb, our production editor, and Jennifer Almond, our sub-editor, for the huge amount of work which they put in to maintain the high standards of the *Journal*.

Finally, we wish to thank all our contributors and readers for their continued support of the *Journal*. We wish you all a very Happy Christmas and a successful New Year.

NEIL WEIR and GUY KENYON EDITORS