INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATIONS: SUMMARY OF ACTIVITIES

I. UNITED NATIONS

EDITORIAL NOTE

For the convenience of readers, we are listing here membership of United Nations organs for 1954. Dates in parentheses represent ends of terms; unless otherwise noted, the states serve through December 31 of the year listed.

SECURITY COUNCIL

Belgium ¹	(1956)	Peru ¹	(1956)
Brazil	(1955)	Turkey	(1955)
China	(Permanent)	USSR	(Permanent)
France	(Permanent)	United Kingdom	(Permanent)
Iran ¹	(1956)	United States	(Permanent)
New Zealand	(1955)		

TRUSTEESHIP COUNCIL

۰.

https://doi.org/10.1017/S0020818300022438 Published online by Cambridge University Press

Australia		New Zealand	
(Admin	istering Member)	(Administering Member)	
Belgium	0	Syria	(1955)
(Admin	istering Member)	USSR	(Permanent)
China	(Permanent)	United Kingd	lom
El Salvador	(1955)	(Adm	inistering Member)
France (Admin	istering Member)	United States	
Haiti	(1956)	(Adm	inistering Member)
India	(1956)		-

ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL COUNCIL

Argentina ²	(1957)	Netherlands ³	(1957)
Australia	(1955)	Norway	(1956)
China ²	(1957)	Pakistan	(1956)
Dominican Republic ⁸	(1957)	Turkey	(1955)
Egypt ²	(1957)	USSR	(1956)
France ²	(1957)	United Kingdom	(1956)
Ecuador	(1956)	United States	(1955)
Czechoslovakia	(1956)	Venezuela	(1955)
India	(1955)	Yugoslavia	(1955)

MEMBERSHIP CHART

Economic and Social Council Commissions

TRANSPORT AND COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

Byelorussian S	SSR (1956)	Norway	(1955)
Chile	(1957)	Pakistan	(1955)
China	(1955)	Poland [*]	(1957)
Colombia	(1955)	USSR	(1956)
Egypt	(1956)	United Kingdom	u ⁷ (1957)
France	(1955)	United States	(1956)
India	(1957)	Venezuela	(1956)
Netherlands'	(1957)		

STATISTICAL COMMISSION

Australia⁵	(1957)	Netherlands⁵	(1957)
Canada	(1955)	Panama	(1956)
China	(1957)	Ukrainian SSR	(1955)
Cuba	(1955)	USSR ^s	(1957)
Denmark	(1956)	United Kingdom	(1956)
France	(1956)	United States ⁵	(1957)
India	(1955)	Yugoslavia	(1956)
Iran	(1955)	5	· · ·

COMMISSION ON HUMAN RIGHTS

Australia	(1956)	Norway ⁶	(1957)
Chile	(1956)	Pakistan	(1956)
China'	(1957)	Philippines	(1955)
Egypt	(1955)	\mathbf{Poland}^{τ}	(1957)
France	(1955)	Turkey	(1956)
Greece	(1956)	Ukrainian SSR	(1955)
India	(1955)	USSR	(1955)
Lebanon ⁷	(1957)	United Kingdom [*]	(1957)
Mexico	(1957)	United States	(1956)

SOCIAL COMMISSION

Argentina	(1955)	India ⁵	(1957)
Australia	(1956)	Iraq	(1955)
Belgium	(1956)	Israel	(1956)
Brazil	(1955)	Norway	(1955)
Byelorussian SSR	(1956)	Philippines ⁵	(1957)
China	(1956)	USSR ⁵	(1957)
Czechoslovakia	(1955)	United Kingdom	(1955)
France⁵	(1957)	United States ⁸	(1957)
Greece ⁵	(1957)	Uruguay	(1956)

COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN

Argentina ⁴	(1957)	France	(1956)
Australia ⁴	(1957)	Haiti	(1955)
Byelorussian SSR ⁵	(1957)	Indonesia ⁴	(1957)
China	(1957)	Lebanon	(1955)
Cuba	(1956)	Pakistan⁵	(1957)
Dominican Republic	(1956)	Poland	(1956)

COMMISSION ON NARCOTIC DRUCS⁸

	Peru	
	Poland	(1956)
(1956)	Turkey	
	USSR	
(1956)	United Kingdom	
	United States	
(1956)	Yugoslavia	
(1956)	Ū.	
	(1956) (1956)	Poland (1956) Turkey USSR (1956) United Kingdom United States (1956) Yugoslavia

FISCAL COMMISSION⁹

POPULATION COMMISSION

Argentina	(1956)	Iran	(1955)
Belgium	(1956)	Sweden	(1955)
Brazil	(1956)	Syria	(1956)
Canada	(1956)	Ukrainian SSR	(1955)
China	(1955)	USSR ⁷	(1957)
Costa Rica [®]	(1957)	United Kingdom ¹	(1957)
France	(1955)	United States'	(1957)
India	(1957)		

ECONOMIC COMMISSION FOR EUROPE"

Austria" Belgium Byelorussian SSR Czechoslovakia Denmark Finland" France Greece Iceland Ireland¹² Italy¹² Luxembourg Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal¹² Sweden Turkey Ukrainian SSR USSR United Kingdom United States Yugoslavia

ECONOMIC COMMISSION FOR ASIA AND THE FAR EAST"

Australia Burma Cambodia¹² Ceylon¹² China France India Japan¹² Laos¹² Nepal²⁹ Netherlands New Zealand Pakistan Philippines Republic of Indonesia Republic of Korea¹² State of Vietnam¹² Thailand USSR United Kingdom United States

Associate Members

Afghanistan¹⁸ Hong Kong Malaya, North Borneo, Brunei and Sarawak

ECONOMIC COMMISSION FOR LATIN AMERICA"

Argentina France Peru Guatemala United Kingdom Bolivia Haiti **United States** Brazil Honduras Uruguay Chile Venezuela Mexico Colombia Netherlands Costa Rica Countries With Nicaragua Cuba Consultative Status Dominican Republic Panama Italy¹⁴ Ecuador Paraguay El Salvador

INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE"

A. H. Badawi	Egypt	(1958)
J. Basdevant	France	(1964)
R. Córdova	Mexico	(1964)
J. G. Guerrero	El Salvador	(1964)
G. H. Hackworth	United States	(1961)
H. Klaestad	Norway	(1961)
F. I. Kozhevnikov	USSR	(1961)
H. Lauterpacht	United Kingdom	(1964)
Hsu Mo	China	(1958)
L. M. Moreno Quintana	Argentina	(1964)
J. E. Read	Canada	(1958)
E. C. Armand Ugon	Uruguay	(1961)
B. Winiarski	Poland	(1958)
Muhammad Zafrulla Khan	Pakistan	(1964)
M. Zoričić	Yugoslavia	(1958)

INTERNATIONAL LAW COMMISSION¹⁰

G. Amado	Brazil	H. Lauterpacht	United Kingdom
R. Córdova	Mexico	Radhabinod Pal	India
D. L. Edmonds	United States	C. Salamanca	Bolivia
J. P. A. François	Netherlands	A. E. F. Sandström	Sweden
F. V. García-Amador	Cuba	G. Scelle	France
Shuhsi Hsu	China	J. Spiropoulos	Greece
Faris Bey el-Khouri	Syria	J. Zourek	Czechoslovakia
S. B. Krylov	USSR	-	

¹ Elected October 7, 1954, by the General Assembly for two-year terms.

² Re-elected October 7, 1954, by the General Assembly for three-year terms.

⁸ Elected October 7, 1954, by the General Assembly for three-year terms.

⁴ Elected August 4, 1954, by ECOSOC for three-year terms.

⁵ Re-elected August 4, 1954, by ECOSOC for three-year terms.

⁶ Elected August 5, 1954, by ECOSOC for three-year terms.

⁷ Re-elected August 5, 1954, by ECOSOC for three-year terms.

⁸ Canada, China, France, India, Peru, Turkey, USSR, United Kingdom, United States and Yugoslavia were re-elected in August 1949, by ECOSOC "until such time as they might be replaced by decision of the Council".

⁹ The Fiscal Commission was discontinued on August 6, 1954, by a decision of ECOSOC. ¹⁰ The members listed were elected by the

General Assembly at its eighth session, with the exception of Mr. Edmonds, who was elected by the Commission on June 28, 1954, to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of Mr. John J. Parker. Terms of office expire on December 31, 1957. Members serve in their individual capacities and not as representatives of their countries. Countries are listed for convenience in identification only.

¹¹ Membership on regional commissions is not for any specified term of years. The question of continuing the commissions themselves is to be considered by ECOSOC periodically.

¹² These countries became eligible for full membership in April 1954, by a resolution of ECOSOC.

¹³ Afghanistan was included in the list of territories within the geographical scope of the Economic Commission for Asia and the Far East in April 1954, by a resolution of ECOSOC.

¹⁴ The Scoretary-General was requested by ECOSOC in April 1954, to authorize the Executive Secretary of ECLA to invite Italy to attend sessions of the Commission on a basis similar to that provided for United Nations Members not members of the Commission.

¹⁵ Judges of the International Court serve in their individual capacities and not as representatives of their countries. Countries are listed for convenience in identification only. Terms of office expire on February 5 of the year listed.

56