placing the decentralization movement in its American political-administrative context; treating the issue informatively and imaginatively by drawing on social science theory; and offering balanced judgment on the advisability and utility of urban structural change. The author concludes: it is now necessary to convert decentralization from a fighting word into a creative public policy."

Members of the selection committee were C. Herman Pritchett, University of California, Santa Barbara, Chairman; Deil Wright, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; and Frank N. Marini, Syracuse University.

Pi Sigma Alpha Award

The Pi Sigma Alpha Award for the best paper at the 1972 Annual Meeting was not awarded on the recommendation of the Committee. The members of the Committee were: Donald S. Strong, University of Alabama, Chairman; Lewis C. Mainzer, University of Massachusetts; and Donald Hanson, University of Utah.

Annual Meeting Visiting Foreign National Travel Grant Program

Under two programs, one sponsored by the Asia Foundation and one by the Institute of International Education, thirty advanced graduate students in the field of political science from twenty-four nations were awarded travel grants to attend the 1973 Annual Meeting in New Orleans. The individuals and nations represented are:

Asia Foundation

HONG KONG S. T. Chan University of Minnesota INDIA K, P. Misra Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars Anil Baran Ray University of Missouri, Columbia JAPAN Mikio Higa Ambassadar College Hisao Iwashima National Defense College KOREA Byong Man Ahn University of Florida Hongkoo Lee Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars Young C. Zeon University of South Dakota

MALAYSIA Shaik L. Ismail American University PAKISTAN Zubair Ahmad University of Pennsylvania

Institute of International Education BRA7II Maria Regina Soares de Lima Vanderbilt University COSTA RICA Milton Clarke University of Kansas CZECHOSLAVAKIA Pavel Machala Johns Hopkins University EGYPT Hoda Moukhtar Zaki Atlanta University ENGLAND Colin MacAndrews Massachusetts Institute of Technology Keith C. Simmonds University of Illinois FRANCE Jacques Fomerand City University of New York GERMANY Joerg Ueltzhoeffer Stanford University GHANA Agyeman Opoku Atlanta University GREECE Demetrios G. Papademetriou University of Maryland IRAN Farid Abolfathi Northwestern University ISRAEL David Naveh University of Connecticut LEBANON Joseph E. Gemayel American University NEW ZEALAND Joseph Bryan Atkinson Yale University NIGERIA Hilary Ikechukinu Iregbulem University of Illinois Offiong E. Udofia State University of New York, Buffalo POLAND Arthur R. Rachwald University of California, Santa Barbara SYRIA Fehmi Saddy American University TURKEY Deniz Erden University of Massachusetts UGANDA Meddi Muqyenyi Northwestern University

438 PS Fall 1973