Canadian Journal of Economics and Political Science

Volume 12 1946

Reprinted with the permission of the original publisher by
Periodicals Service Company
Germantown, NY
2013

Printed on acid-free paper.

This reprint was reproduced from the best original edition copy available.

NOTE TO THE REPRINT EDITION:
In some cases full page advertisements which do not add to
the scholarly value of this volume have been omitted.
As a result, some reprinted volumes may have irregular pagination.

The Canadian Journal of Economics Revue canadienne d'Economique and Political Science et de Science politique

VOLUME / TOME XII
1946

Reprinted by

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO PRESS

1968

The Canadian Political Science Association

President, F. A. KNOX

Past Presidents Elected Members of the K. W. TAYLOR Executive Council J. H. AITCHESON R. MACG. DAWSON J. T. CROTEAU J. C. FALARDEAU Vice-Presidents J. E. L. GRAHAM S. R. NOBLE H. F. GREENWAY W. J. WAINES T. F. McILWRAITH J. A. CORRY J. R. MALLORY F. A. McGREGOR M. W. SHARP A. STEWART Secretary-Treasurer MISS S. THRUPP C. B. MACPHERSON J. W. WATSON G. WILSON Assistant Secretary-Treasurer K. R. WILSON

Representatives of the Board of Editors of the Journal
V. W. BLADEN
H. McD. CLOKIE

H. D. WOODS

The Canadian Political Science Association was founded in 1913, and reorganized . in 1929. The object of the Association is to encourage the investigation and study of economic, political, and social problems in Canada.

Annual Subscription \$3.00 Student Subscription \$1.50

The Association welcomes as members all who are interested in its objects. Members receive a copy of The Canadian Journal of Economics and Political Science, published quarterly for the Association by the University of Toronto Press.

Applications for membership should be addressed to the Secretary-Treasurer, 273 Bloor St. W., Toronto, Ontario.

Printed in U.S.A.

O. W. MAIN

THE CANADIAN JOURNAL OF ECONOMICS AND POLITICAL SCIENCE

EDITORS

S. D. CLARK, University of Toronto W. B. HURD, McMaster University

H. McD. Clokie, University of Manitoba

B. S. KEIRSTEAD, McGill University

Managing Editor: V. W. BLADEN, University of Toronto

EDITORIAL ADVISORY BOARD

F. A. KNOX (Chairman)

J. H. AITCHESON	C. B. MACPHERSON	K. W. TAYLOR
J. A. Corry	F. A. McGregor	Miss S. Thrupi
J. T. CROTEAU	T. F. McIlwraith	W. J. Waines
R. MacG. Dawson	J. R. MALLORY	J. W. WATSON
J. C. FALARDEAU	S. R. NOBLE	G. Wilson
J. E. L. Graham	M. W. Sharp	K. R. Wilson
H. F. GREENWAY	A. Stewart	H. D. Woods

Editorial Office, Baldwin House, University of Toronto Business Office, The University of Toronto Press

All correspondence relating to the business of the Canadian Political Science Association should be addressed to the Secretary-Treasurer, 273 Bloor St. W., Toronto, Ontario