LIST OF ABBREVIATIONS

AAA Astronomy Advantage Area

AFRA Association for Rural Advancement

ANC African National Congress

ANCYL ANC Youth League

BEE black economic empowerment

BIG basic income grant

CALS Centre for Applied Legal Studies

CASAC Council for the Advancement of the South African Constitution

CBO community-based organisation

CC Constitutional Court
CJC Climate Justice Charter

CLARA Communal Land Rights Act 11 of 2004 CODESA Convention for a Democratic South Africa

CPA Communal Property Association
CRC Constitutional Review Committee

CTLDC Commission on Traditional Leadership Disputes and Claims

DA Democratic Alliance

DALRRD Department of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development

DLA Department of Land Affairs
DMR Department of Mineral Resources

DP Democratic Party

DRDLR Department of Rural Development and Land Reform

DSD Department of Social Development

EFF Economic Freedom Fighters

ESTA Extension of Security of Tenure Act 62 of 1997

EWC expropriation without compensation

GDP gross domestic product

GEAR Growth, Employment and Redistribution

HLP High-Level Panel on the Assessment of Key Legislation and the

Acceleration of Fundamental Change

IBMR Itereleng Bakgatla Mineral Resources
ILO International Labour Organization

IPILRA Interim Protection of Informal Land Rights Act 31 of 1996

XXV

ITB Ingonyama Trust Board

KRSDF Karoo Regional Spatial Development Framework

KZN KwaZulu-Natal

LAPC Land and Agricultural Policy Centre

LCC Land Claims Court

LRAD Land Redistribution for Agricultural Development

LRC Legal Resources Centre

LTA Land Reform (Labour Tenants) Act 3 of 1996 LUPO Land Use and Planning Ordinance 15 of 1985

MPNP Multi-Party Negotiation Process

MPRDA Mineral and Petroleum Resources Development Act 28 of 2002

NEMA National Environmental Management Act 107 of 1998

NGO non-governmental organisation NLC National Land Committee

NP National Party

NWGA National Woolgrowers Association
OVG Office of the Valuer-General
PALS Partnership in Agri Land Solutions

PAPLRA Presidential Advisory Panel on Land Reform and Agriculture

PFSA Peoples Food Sovereignty Act, 2018

PIE Prevention of Illegal Eviction from and Unlawful Occupation of Land

Act 19 of 1998

PLAAS Institute for Poverty, Land and Agrarian Studies

PLAS Proactive Land Acquisition Scheme

PPM Pilanesberg Platinum Mines PTO Permission to Occupy

RDP Reconstruction and Development Programme

RET Radical Economic Transformation

RWM Rural Women's Movement

SAFSC South African Food Sovereignty Campaign SANBI South African National Biodiversity Institute

SASA South African Sugar Association SCA Supreme Court of Appeal SKA Square Kilometre Array

SLAG Settlement/Land Acquisition Grant
SLLDP State Land Lease and Disposal Policy
STIAS Stellenbosch Institute for Advanced Study
TBVC Transkei, Bophuthatswana, Venda and Ciskei
TKLA Traditional and Khoisan Leadership Act 3 of 2019

TLGFA Traditional Leadership and Governance Framework Act 41 of 2003

TRC Truth and Reconciliation Commission

UCT University of Cape Town

ULTRA Upgrading of Land Tenure Rights Act 112 of 1991