UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA & VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF LAW ANNOUNCE A CONFERENCE

THE SOUTH AND THE AMERICAN CONSTITUTIONAL TRADITION

March 5-7, 1987

Gainesville, Florida

HERMAN BELZ MICHAEL LES BENEDICT BERTRAM WYATT-BROWN DAVID R. COLBURN DON E. FEHRENBACHER PAUL FINKELMAN PETER G. FISH JACK P. GREENE MICHAEL GROSSBERG J. WOODFORD HOWARD, JR. HERBERT A. JOHNSON DAVID T. KONIG STEVEN F. LAWSON PAUL L. MURPHY DONALD NIEMAN R. KENT NEWMYER **GAYLE PETERS** MARY K.B. TACHAU WILLIAM WIECEK



Courtesy of The New-York Historical Society, New York

For Additional Information, Contact:

KERMIT L. HALL HOLLAND LAW CENTER UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA GAINESVILLE, FLORIDA 32611 JAMES W. ELY, JR. SCHOOL OF LAW VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE 37240

Funded in part by the Florida Endowment for the Humanities

Fellows of the American Society for Legal History

HONORARY FELLOWS

David Daube Charles Fairman George Haskins J. Willard Hurst Stephan G. Kuttner Richard Morris Gaines Post Samuel E. Thorne

CORRESPONDING FELLOWS

Raoul C. van Caenegem Helmut Coing Robert Feenstra Alfonso García Gallo Emile Lousse Stroud F. C. Milsom G. O. Sayles Thomas B. Smith Andre Tunc Franz Wieacker

American Society for Legal History

Officers and Directors, 1986

Barbara Aronstein Black, Dean, Columbia University Law School, President

Thomas A. Green, University of Michigan Law School, Vice President

L. Lynn Hogue, Georgia State University College of Law, Secretary

Craig Joyce, University of Houston Law Center, Treasurer

Board of Directors

Daniel R. Coquillette, Dean, Boston College Law School Lawrence M. Friedman, Stanford Law School Robert W. Gordon, Stanford Law School Kermit L. Hall, University of Florida Douglas Hay, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University Michael H. Hoeflich, University of Illinois College of Law Milton M. Klein, University of Tennessee Janet Senderowitz Loengard, Moravian College Jennifer Nedelsky, University of Toronto William E. Nelson, New York University School of Law R. Kent Newmyer, University of Connecticut John V. Orth, University of North Carolina School of Law Rayman Solomon, American Bar Foundation Sue Sheridan Walker, Northeastern Illinois University Jamil S. Zainaldin, American Historical Association

The Society is the professional association in the United States that promotes study, research, and publication in the history of law and legal institutions. American and non-American members receive the Society's official publication, Law and History Review, the Society's Newsletter, discounts on volumes in the series Studies in Legal History, published by the University of North Carolina Press and notices of meetings and conferences on legal history, including the Society's annual meeting. Institutional subscribers/members receive only the Review and the newsletter.

Regular Membership	\$18.00
Student Membership	\$10.00
Sustaining Membership	\$35.00
Institutional Membership	\$30.00

For applications for membership or further information, write to L. Lynn Hogue, Georgia State University College of Law, Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3092.