PS Update

RETIREMENTS

Joseph Losco, Ball State University, who served as the chair of the political science department for 14 years and director of the Bowen Center for Public Affairs, retired over winter break.

APPOINTMENTS

Anastasia Shesterinina tenure-track lecturer in politics/international politics, department of politics, University of Sheffield, UK.

AWARDS

Todd Belt, professor, political science, University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo has been awarded the John W. Kluge Fellowship in Digital Studies for 2017. The fellowship includes residence at the Library of Congress in Washington, DC, from May to December of 2017.

Rick Farmer received the Robert Darcy Lifetime Achievement Award from the Oklahoma Political Science Association in November, 2016.

Gary Johnson, professor emeritus of political science, Lake Superior State University received the Founders Award of the Michigan Political Science Association (MIPSA) in October 2016.

Cynthia Kaplan, professor, political science, has been awarded the 80th Anniversary Medal from Al Farabi Kazakhstan National University for service to the university. The award was granted by the chancellor of Al Farabi KazNU and was presented by Gulnar Nasimova, chair, department of political science, Al Farabi KazNU.

Jeffrey Pugh, assistant professor, department of conflict resolution, human security

and global governance, was selected as the winner of the 2016 ENMISA Outstanding Paper Award for his paper "A Networked Governance Approach to Host-Migrant Human Security and Peacebuilding: Evidence from Ecuador."

VISITING OR TEMPORARY POSITION

Olena Nikolayenko, associate professor, department of political science, Fordham University, will be a visiting scholar at the Davis Center for Russian and Eurasian Studies, Harvard University in spring 2017. Her research project will focus on political consequences of remittances in the post-Soviet region.