ident-elect of the APSA for 1982-83 at the 1981 Annual Business Meeting. Because there were no nominations other than those made by the APSA Nominating Committee, the committee's candidates were elected by acclamation. Therefore, the APSA membership will not be voting for officers by mail this year.

In addition to Riker, the following officers were elected: Harry Eckstein, Frances Fox Piven and David Braybrooke, vice-presidents; Allen Schick, treasurer; Raymond Wolfinger, secretary; Barbara Sinclair, E. Wally Miles, Susan Welch, Sidney Tarrow, Ira Katznelson, M. Margaret Conway, Harold Jacobson, Ronald Weber, and Paul Allen Beck (one-year term), APSA Council members. The Council is the governing body of the APSA.

The report of the Treasurer, William Keefe, was also made at the Business Meeting and is reproduced in its entirety in the *PS* Appendix.



APSA President-Elect William H. Riker of Rochester converses with Jesse McCorry of Howard and Michael B. Preston of Illinois.

Photo by Norinne Hessman

Women to Aid Tenure Seekers

The Women's Caucus for Political Science agreed unanimously at its September 5 business meeting in New York to establish a committee to plan a review procedure to assist women under consideration for retention, tenure and promotion. The committee is to be appointed by Mary Ann Githens, president of the Women's Caucus, and is to report back to the Women's Caucus next year.

This proposal resulted from recommendations made by out-going president Ann Matasar. Two problems emerged last year as central to women in their professional development, according to Matasar. First, women in the profession are having difficulty getting jobs in either academic or non-academic settings. Second, women who already have jobs are facing difficulties with professional advancement, particularly in the processes of retention, tenure and promotion, Matasar reported. Based on this observation, Matasar recommended the Women's Caucus concentrate on assisting entry-level women in finding jobs and aiding women currently in the profession in keeping their jobs and in advancing professionally.

In other business:

- Rita Moniz, chairperson of the Recruitment and Membership Committee, reported a significant increase in membership in the Women's Caucus.
- Martin Gruberg, chairman of the Nominating Committee, reported the slate of nominees for Caucus offices in 1981-82, as follows: Jeanne Marie Col, Sangamon State University, Presidentelect; Janet K. Boles, Marquette University, Secretary; Linda Richter, Kansas State University, Treasurer.
- The Women's Caucus unanimously agreed to establish a President's Advisory Council made up of past Women's Caucus presidents and current officers to maintain continuity in the Caucus. (Louise K. Comfort, Secretary of the Women's Caucus, provided the minutes upon which this report is based.)