ANNOUNCEMENTS.

The Council of the Geological Society of London has this year made the following awards :---

The Wollaston Medal to Dr. Arthur William Rogers, Director of the Geological Survey of the Union of South Africa, in recognition of the value of his work on the geology of South Africa. The Murchison Medal to Dr. George Walter Tyrrell, of the University of Glasgow, for his work on the igneous rocks of the West of Scotland. The Lyell Medal to Ernest Clayton Andrews, of the Geological Survey of New South Wales, for his researches on the economic geology of New South Wales and on physical geology. The Bigsby Medal to Dr. Norman L. Bowen, of the Geological Laboratory, Carnegie Institution, Washington, D.C., in recognition of the value of his researches on the physical chemistry of igneous rocks. The Wollaston Fund to Dr. Robert G. S. Hudson, for his work on the stratigraphy and palaeontology of the Carboniferous rocks of Yorkshire. The Murchison Fund to Dr. Cyril James Stubblefield, for his researches on the Cambrian rocks of Shropshire, and on invertebrate palaeontology. A moiety of the Lyell Fund to Dr. Oliver M. B. Bulman, in recognition of his work on the Cambrian rocks of Shropshire, and of his palaeontological researches. A second moiety of the Lyell Fund to Mr. William Howson Wilcockson, for his work on petrology and economic geology.