Parties Sections Honors Epstein, Schlesinger, Eldersveld Fall 1986 886 **Policy Studies Awards Presented** Fall 1986 Section on Religion and Politics Invites Participation Fall 1986 APSA Organized Sections: A List and Guidelines Fall 1986 **New Sections Encourage Members** Winter 1987

#### **Treasurer's Report**

1985-86 Report

### **UK's Jewell to Head Oral History Project**

Malcolm E. Jewell, chairman of the University of Kentucky political science department, has been named director of the Pi Sigma Alpha and American Political Science Association's oral history project in political science.

The purpose of the project is to interview political scientists to document the growth of the academic discipline.

The project is being moved to the University of Kentucky (UK) campus from the society's Washington, D.C., headquarters in coordination with the American Political Science Association.

At UK, the project will be housed in the oral history section of King Library. "UK has an on-going oral history project," Jewell said. Terry L. Birdwhistell heads the UK oral history project, located in the special collections department.

About 20 political scientists have been interviewed nationwide and about 15 more will be interviewed by political scientists throughout the U.S. during the next two years, Jewell added.

The transfer of the project to UK includes a \$10,000 per year grant to fund the collection of additional oral histories.

It is anticipated that a volume containing the oral histories will be edited later by UK political scientists Michael Baer, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, and Lee Sigelman. 

# **APSA Research Grantees** Announced for 1987

The APSA Research Support Committee announced the 1987 Research Grantees 887 888 991 73

Fall 1986 982

on May 1. The Council established the Research Grant Program in 1984, and authorized \$15,000 for 1987 research grants. To be eligible for a grant, applicants must be APSA members and must either be a faculty member at a non-Ph.D. granting college or university or be a political scientist not affiliated with an academic institution. Funds are used for research that addresses a significant problem in political science.

The Selection Committee, composed of Elinor Ostrom, Indiana University, Chair; Jeanne N. Clarke, University of Arizona; Paul Hammond, University of Pittsburgh; Huev Perry, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill; Howard J. Wiarda, American Enterprise Institute; and Richard F. Winters, Dartmouth College, reviewed 39 applications and awarded 12 grants for 1987. The grantees are:

Andrea Bonnicksen, Eastern Illinois University, "From Laboratories to Legislatures: Building a Policy of In Vitro Fertilization." \$1,500.

Byron Dare, Fort Lewis College. Untitled. \$295.

Richard C. Feiock, University of Miami. "Municipal Representation, Constituency Choice and Economic Development."

Miriam G. Golden, Wesleyan University. "Innovation by Labor Movements: Britain, Italy and Belgium in the Economic Crises of 1873-96, the 1930s, and the 1970s-80s.'' \$1,500.

Karen M. Hult, Pomona College. "Governing the White House: The Presidency as an Organization." \$1,300.

Otwin Marenin, Unaffiliated. "The National Youth Service Corps of Nigeria." \$1.500.

Barbara Ann Perry and Donald L. Davison, University of Central Florida.

### Association News

"(Color) Blind Justice?: An Examination of Racial Bias in Imposition of the Death Penalty." \$1,500.

John E. Peterson, Unaffiliated. "The Modernization of Tradition: Political Change in the Arabian Peninsula." \$1,500.

John J. Pitney, Jr., Claremont McKenna College. "The Republican Party in the U.S. House Project." \$1,050.

**James Pletcher,** Denison University, "Public Intervention in Agricultural Markets in Malaysia." \$1,500.

**Doh C. Shinn,** Sangamon State University. "Public Perceptions and Commitments to Political Democracy in Korea." \$1,500.

Gary D. Wekkin, University of Central Arkansas. "Political Parties, Federalism, and Public Policy." \$775. □

# Annual Meeting: Herring and Waldo To Be Honored; Plenaries to Include Posner and Frank

Pendleton Herring, former president of both the APSA and the Social Science Research Council, has been named the winner of the Madison Award. The Madison Award, the highest accolade of the Association, is given every three years to a living American political scientist who has made a distinguished scholarly contribution to political science. Herring will deliver the Madison lecture, "Politics: A Retrospective View," at 5:30 p.m. on Friday, September 4.

Dwight Waldo, professor emeritus of the Maxwell School, Syracuse University, has been selected as the second John Gaus lecturer. The Gaus Lecture was established to honor a scholar who best embodies the joint tradition of political science and public administration, and, more generally, to recognize achievement and encourage scholarship in public administration. Waldo will deliver his lecture, "A Theory of Public Administration Means in Our Time a Theory of Politics Also," at 5:30 p.m. on Thursday, September 3.

Evening plenary sessions will feature:

• Thursday evening—Presidential address, "One Soul at a Time: Political Science and Political Reform," by Samuel P. Huntington, Harvard University, preceded by the APSA award ceremony.

• Friday evening—"The Constitution, Property Rights and the Welfare State" with participants including Frank I. Michelman, Harvard University School of Law, Richard A. Posner, U.S. Court of Appeals, and Martin Shapiro, University of California, Berkeley.

• Saturday evening—"The Constitution and Foreign Affairs" with participants including U.S. Representative Barney Frank and John Norton Moore, University of Virginia Law School.

Over 650 panels on a variety of topics have been scheduled for this 63rd annual meeting at the Palmer House in Chicago September 3-6. One of the panels will be a roundtable on the politics of AIDS and will include as a participant, C. Everett Koop, U.S. Surgeon General.

### Program Plans for 1988 Annual Meeting

### John Ferejohn and Stephen Krasner Stanford University

As organizers of the convention we have not tried to impose a theme on individual sections. Rather, we have encouraged the section chairs to define their own intellectual agendas. We expect that this will result in a program at least as vibrant as one that could be generated around a specific theme. The panels described below reflect the range of substantive interests and theoretical approaches that inform contemporary political science. We hope that the program will generate not just something for everybody, but something good for everybody.