HI in the Local Universe II Proceedings of a Workshop held in

Melbourne on 28–30 September 1998



Foreword

This edition of *PASA* contains a selection of articles presented at a workshop on 'H_I in the Local Universe' held in Melbourne from 28–30 September 1998. The workshop followed the very successful one held in Sydney in May 1996 (see *PASA* Volume 14, Number 1, 1997). The focus of the workshop was on new scientific results on the distribution of H_I in nearby galaxies, though the distribution of Milky Way High Velocity Clouds and local Lyman- α clouds was also discussed. Part of the motivation for the workshop was to present the first scientific results from the new 21-cm multibeam receiver on the Parkes radio telescope.

The workshop covered a wide range of topics including HI observations in the Zone of Avoidance, mass functions, theoretical models, different galaxy populations especially low surface brightness galaxies, observations at other wavelengths and future observational possibilities. Participants included astronomers from the USA, Canada, UK, Mexico, The Netherlands, Italy, India and Germany, all of whom made exciting contributions to the workshop. Apart from sampling the local cuisine in Melbourne, partipants were also treated to public lectures by Professor Riccardo Giaconni (ESO) on the 'First Results from the VLT Commissioning' and Professor Ed Stone (JPL) talking about 'Mars and the Search for Life Elsewhere'.

All papers in this special issue have been refereed in accordance with the policies of *PASA*. Editors for this issue were Lister Staveley-Smith, Michelle Storey and Rachel Webster.

> Rachel Webster University of Melbourne 1323-3580/99/010001\$05.00

T • 1	C	D 1 • • 1
List	ot	Participants

Name	Email	Institution	
David Barnes	David.Barnes@atnf.csiro.au	ATNF (Epping)	
Frank Briggs	fbriggs@astro.rug.nl	Kapteyn Institute, Groningen	
Ragbir Bhathal	r.bhathal@uws.edu.au	University of Western Sydney, Nepean	
Claude Carignan	claude@astro.umontreal.ca	University of Montreal	
Jayaram Chengalur	chengalur@ncra.tifr.res.in	NCRA/TIFR, India	
Erwin de Blok	edeblok@physics.unimelb.edu.au	University of Melbourne	
Mike Disney	Mike.Disney@astro.cf.ac.uk	University of Wales, Cardiff	
Ron Ekers	rekers@atnf.csiro.au	ATNF (Epping)	
Ken Freeman	kcf@mso.anu.edu.au	MSSSO, Canberra	
Tracey Getts	tgetts@atnf.csiro.au	ATNF (Epping)/Macquarie Univ.	
Raymond Haynes	rhaynes@atnf.csiro.au	ATNF (Epping)	
Trish Henning	henning@tinsley.phys.unm.edu	University of New Mexico	
Walter Huchtmeier	huchtmeier@mpifr-bonn.mpg.de	MPI fuer Radio Astronomie, Bonn	
Judith Irwin	irwin@astro.queensu.ca	Queen's Univ., Canada/NCRA, India	
Sebastian Juraszek	sjurasze@atnf.csiro.au	ATNF (Epping)/Univ. Sydney	
Helmut Jerjen	jerjen@mso.anu.edu.au	MSSSO, Canberra	
Virginia Kilborn	vkilborn@physics.unimelb.edu.au	University of Melbourne	
Pat Knezek	pmk@pha.jhu.edu	The Johns Hopkins University	
Renee Kraan-Korteweg	kraan@astro.ugto.mx	Univ. de Guanajuato, Mexico	
Malte Marquarding	mmarquar@physics.unimelb.edu.au	University of Melbourne	
Robert Minchin	r.minchin@astro.cf.ac.uk	University of Wales, Cardiff	
Jeremy Mould	director@mso.anu.edu.au	MSSSO, Canberra	
Paul Nulsen	pejn@uow.edu.au	University of Wollongong	
Jess O'Brien	jobrien@physics.unimelb.edu.au	University of Melbourne	
Tom Oosterloo	toosterl@ifctr.mi.cnr.it	Istituto di Fisica Cosmica	
Marc Price	mprice@atnf.csiro.au	ATNF (Parkes)	
Mary Putman	putman@mso.anu.edu.au	MSSSO, Canberra	
Andrew Rivers	andyr@as.unm.edu	University of New Mexico	
Stuart Ryder	sryder@jach.hawaii.edu	Joint Astronomy Center, Hawaii	
Elaine Sadler	ems@physics.usyd.edu.au	University of Sydney	
Anja Schroeder	aschroed@atnf.csiro.au	National Central Univ., Taiwan/ATNF	
Mike Shull	mshull@casa.colorado.edu	University of Colorado	
David Sprayberry	dsprayberry@keck.hawaii.edu	Keck Observatory, Hawaii	
Lister Staveley-Smith	lstavele@atnf.csiro.au	ATNF (Epping)	
Ian Stewart	istewart@atnf.csiro.au	ATNF (Parkes)	
Frank Stootman	f.stootman@uws.edu.au	University of Western Sydney, Nepean	
Rob Swaters	swaters@astro.rug.nl	Kapteyn Institute, Groningen	
Thijs van der Hulst	vdhulst@astro.rug.nl	Kapteyn Institute, Groningen	
Wilfred Walsh	wwalsh@astro.uni-bonn.de	Radioastr. Inst., Univ. Bonn	
Fabian Walter	walter@astro.uni-bonn.de	Radioastr. Inst., Univ. Bonn	
Meryl Waugh	mwaugh@physics.unimelb.edu.au	University of Melbourne	
Rachel Webster	rwebster@physics.unimelb.edu.au	University of Melbourne	
Eric Wilcots	ewilcots@rainier.astro.wisc.edu	University of Wisconsin, Madison	
Martin Zwaan	zwaan@astro.rug.nl	Kapteyn Institute, Groningen	
	2. autonou ug.m	Rapseyn institute, Groningen	

Acknowledgments

This meeting was supported by the Australia Telescope National Facility, the University of Western Sydney and the University of Melbourne. The Local Organising Committee and the Scientific Organising Committee both contributed to a very successful and friendly meeting. Scientific Organising Committee Mike Disney Ken Freeman Trish Henning Ofer Lahav Lister Staveley-Smith (co-chair) Rachel Webster (co-chair)

 $Local \ Organising \ Committee$

Erwin de Blok Virginia Kilborn Malte Marquarding Mary Putman Rachel Webster (chair)