O. Engvold (ed.), Transactions of the International Astronomical Union, Vol. XXVB. ©2007 IAU. Printed in the United States of America.

DIVISION VI: INTERSTELLAR MATTER

(MATIERE INTERSTELLAIRE)

PRESIDENT: Bo Reipurth

VICE-PRESIDENT: John Dyson

BOARD: R. Bachiller, J. Franco, T. Henning, T. Hua, S. Kwok, J.T. Millar, G. Pineau des Forets, J. Raymond, Y. Sofue, G. Stasinska, G. Tenorio-Tagle, S. Torres-Peimbert, J. Vilchez

Commission 34: Interstellar Matter

1. Introduction

Division VI held its business meeting during the morning of 18 July 2003 followed after lunch by a scientific session. Approximately 30 people attended one or more parts of the meeting.

2. Business Meeting

The first agenda item was the President's report, summarizing the goals and main activities of the Division. During the past three years the Board has reviewed a large number of proposals for symposia and colloquia, for which sponsorship by the Division had been requested. Currently the Division has 748 members. During the past three years 14 members are deceased, and 54 persons have requested membership at GA25.

A number of Board members stepped down after serving their terms and new members were nominated. The following seven members retired: Rafael Bachiller, Thomas Henning, Sun Kwok, Guillaume Pineau des Forets, John Raymond, Guillermo Tenorio-Tagle, and Sylvia Torres-Peimbert. In order to keep within the new limit of 12 members of the Board instituted by the new IAU structural reforms, only 4 new members were nominated: You-Hua Chu, Gary Ferland, Susana Lizano, and Antonella Natta. The newly constituted Board was approved by the attendees of the Business Meeting.

The Board has been discussing ways to broaden the election procedures for membership of the Board. With electronic communication now universally available, it is suggested that the next election of Board members shall be announced by e-mail to the full Division membership, soliciting nominations, with a subsequent vote by all Division members.

This was followed by a discussion on how the Division can become more useful to its members. One possibility that was suggested is the circulation of occasional e-mail bulletins as events would warrant it. An attempt will also be made to expand and improve the Division web page.

The meeting was finished with a discussion of potential future symposia and colloquia organized under the auspices of the Division. One of several possibilities suggested is a meeting to celebrate the SN 1006 event during the General Assembly in Prague in 2006.

3. Reports of Working Groups

Division VI currently has three working groups, all of which have been active in organizing meetings within their fields:

- Working Group on Astrochemistry
- Working Group on Planetary Nebulae
- Working Group on Star Formation

4. Scientific Session

The entire afternoon of 18 July was devoted to a series of review talks on various key topics within the area of the Division. The following presentations were made:

- Bruce Elmegreen: Latest Results on Galactic/Extragalactic Star Formation
- Michael A. Dopita: Extragalactic HII Regions
- Theodore R. Gull: Eta Carinae and the Homunculus A Distant Atomic Spectroscopy Laboratory
- P. Frank Winkler: Supernova Remnants as Windows on the Interstellar Medium
- Blair D. Savage: The FUSE Survey of O VI in the Galactic Halo
- Yoshiaki Sofue: High Resolution CO-line Surveys of Galaxies

Bo Reipurth Outgoing President of the Division