Association News

The major innovations instituted by the new editors thus far have been consolidating the manuscript and book review components of the Journal and computerizing the main stages of these two components. While physical facilities, budgets, staff and computer files are shared by the two editors, Zinnes and Seitz report that they maintain "clearly differentiated roles with respect to the manuscripts on the one hand and the books on the other."

Zinnes and Seitz are working to widen the pool of referees of manuscripts submitted to APSR. Interested persons should send a vitae and a list of areas of interest to: Dina A. Zinnes, Editor, or Steven T. Seitz, Book Review Editor, APSR, 50C Lincoln Hall, University of Illinois, 702 South Wright Street, Urbana, Illinois 61801.

Council Approves Projects

At its May 15 meeting, the APSA Council, the governing body of the Association, approved three new projects including awarding a journalism prize each year, publishing an annual review of recent research in political science, and holding a yearly symposium in honor of Harold Lasswell.

Journalism Award Established

The Council approved a new APSA award, the Carey McWilliams Award, to honor a journalist who has made a major contribution to the understanding of politics. Starting in 1982, this award will be given each year at the national meeting.

The award is named for famed political journalist, the late Carey McWilliams, long-time editor of the *Nation* magazine. His son, W. Carey McWilliams, is a political scientist at Rutgers University.

State of the Discipline to Be Assessed

In other business the Council approved the development of a book on the state of the discipline which will draw from the 1982 APSA program. For several years



New APSR Managing Editor Dina A. Zinnes.
Photo by Norinne Hessman

the Association has considered initiating the publication of an annual volume which reviews recent research in political science.

President Seymour Martin Lipset and 1982 Program Chair Ada Finifter will have editorial control over the first volume. The 1982 program will include a panel on the state of the discipline from which articles for the new publication may be derived.

H. D. Lasswell Symposium Approved

Another scholarly project approved by the Council is the establishment of the H. D. Lasswell Symposium. Beginning in 1982, each year three outstanding political scientists will be selected to present papers addressed to a common theme at an annual meeting plenary session.

Other Action

In other action the Council:

• Elected Paul Allen Beck of Florida State University to fill the vacancy on the

Council left by the death of Frank J. Munger.

 Appointed Lipset, Executive Director Thomas E. Mann, and Philip E. Converse of the University of Michigan to represent the Association on the Council of the International Political Science Association.

The complete minutes of the May 1981 Council meeting are reprinted in the Appendix of this issue.

1982 Annual Meeting Program Committee: How to Participate in Denver

The 1982 Annual Meeting of the Association will be held from Thursday, September 2 through Sunday, September 5 at The Denver Hilton and Denver Marriott Hotel, in Denver, Colorado.

Preparation of copy for printing of the Preliminary Program in April begins early in January of the meeting year. Therefore, paper suggestions must be received by the Program Committee well in advance of that time to be given full consideration. Paper suggestions and offers to appear as discussants are welcomed by the Program Committee until December 1, 1981. You may write directly to the appropriate section chairperson listed here. More general inquiries or suggestions may be addressed to Professor Ada Finifter (Department of Political Science, Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan 48824), who is the 1982 Program Chair, or to Eloise French, Convention Coordinator, APSA, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036.

Prospective participants should be aware of two APSA Council policies which affect their meeting participation: (1) Acceptance of a proposal by the Program Committee obligates the individual to pre-register (with appropriate fee) prior to June 1, 1982. Participants who have not pre-registered between January 1 and June 1 will not have their names listed in the Final Program when it goes to press in June of the meeting year.

All 1982 Program participants will receive preregistration materials early in the year. (2) "Dual participation" on Official Program panels is proscribed by the Council of the APSA. No person may serve on more than one official Program panel, including as a non-presenting co-author. Proposals to more than one section are permissible, but in case of multiple acceptances, a choice of only one panel will have to be made. This rule applies only to participation on the panels organized by the Program Committee and does not affect participation in panels organized by "unaffiliated groups."

Section 1. Political Theory: John G. Gunnell, Graduate School of Public Affairs, State University of New York at Albany, 1400 Washington Avenue, Albany, New York 12222.

The Political Theory section will consist of 11 panels. Approximately half of the panels will be devoted to metatheoretical problems, and half will focus on substantive claims about politics and political life. This distinction between Theory and Metatheory is not intended to be unequivocal or to imply assumptions about the relationship but only to recognize formally a difference in distribution of emphasis between a concern with politics and political phenomena on the one hand and with the activity and product of political theory on the other hand. The



1982 Annual Meeting Program Chair Ada Finifter attends Council meeting with newly elected Council member Harold Jacobson of Michigan, and with Council Members Marian Lief Palley of Delaware and Doris A. Graber of Illinois at Chicago Circle.

Photo by Norinne Hessman