## Notes on Contributors

- Ewa Atanassow is Professor of Politics at Bard College Berlin. She is the author of *Tocqueville's Dilemmas*, and Ours: Sovereignty, Nationalism, Globalization (Princeton University Press).
- Julia R. Azari is Professor of Political Science at Marquette University. Her research interests include the American presidency, political parties, and American political development. She is the author of *Delivering the People's Message: The Changing Politics of the Presidential Mandate* (Cornell University Press).
- Thomas Bartscherer is the Peter Sourian Senior Lecturer in the Humanities at Bard College. He is co-editor of the critical edition of Hannah Arendt's The Life of the Mind (Wallstein Verlag), Switching Codes: Thinking through Digital Technology in the Humanities and Arts (University of Chicago Press), and Erotikon: Essay on Eros, Ancient and Modern (University of Chicago Press).
- David A. Bateman is Associate Professor of Government and in the Jeb E. Brooks School of Public Policy at Cornell University. He is the author of Disenfranchising Democracy: Constructing the Electorate in the United States, United Kingdom, and France (Cambridge University Press) and, with Ira Katznelson and John Lapinski, Southern Nation: Congress and White Supremacy After Reconstruction (Princeton University Press).
- Richard Boyd is Associate Professor of Government and Director of the Tocqueville Forum for Political Understanding at Georgetown University. He is the author of *Uncivil Society: The Perils of Pluralism and the Making of Modern Liberalism* (Rowman & Littlefield) and has published broadly on topics in the intellectual history of liberalism.

- Adam Davis is the Executive Director of Oregon Humanities. He has trained thousands of discussion leaders, facilitated hundreds of community and workplace discussions, and moderated onstage conversations with authors, officeholders, and community builders. He hosts *The Detour* podcast and is the editor of *Taking Action: Readings for Civic Reflection* (Great Books Foundation).
- H. Abbie Erler is Associate Professor of Political Science at Kenyon College. Her research interests include juvenile justice and mental health and women's representation. She is the author of "A New Face of Poverty? Economic Crises and Poverty Discourses" in *Poverty & Public Policy*.
- **Ioannis D. Evrigenis** is Professor of Political Science and Director of the International Relations Program at Tufts University. He is overseeing The Bodin Project and is the author of *Fear of Enemies and Collective Action* (Cambridge University Press), for which he received the Delba Winthrop Award for Excellence in Political Science.
- Hahrie Han is the Inaugural Director of the SNF Agora Institute, the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Professor of Political Science, and Faculty Director of the P<sub>3</sub> Research Lab at Johns Hopkins University. Her work specializes in the study of organizing movements, civic engagement, and democracy and her most recent book is *Prisms of the People: Power and Organizing in 21st Century America* (University of Chicago Press).
- Ira Katznelson is Ruggles Professor of Political Science and History at Columbia University. His book Fear Itself: The New Deal and the Origins of Our Time (Liveright) was awarded the Bancroft Prize and the Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award. His most recent books are the co-authored Southern Nation: Congress and White Supremacy After Reconstruction (Princeton University Press) and Time Counts: Quantitative Analysis for Historical Social Science (Princeton University Press).
- Matthew Longo is Assistant Professor of Political Science at Leiden University. He is the author of *The Politics of Borders: Sovereignty, Security, and the Citizen after 9/11* (Cambridge University Press), which received the 2019 Charles Taylor Book Award.
- Elizabeth K. Markovits is Professor of Politics at Mount Holyoke College. She specializes in ancient and contemporary political thought, and her most recent book is Future Freedoms: Intergenerational Justice, Democratic Theory, and Ancient Greek Tragedy & Comedy (Routledge).
- Nicole Mellow is Professor of Political Science at William College. Her research focuses on American politics, partisanship, and national identity and state-building. Her most recent book, with Jeffrey K. Tulis, is *Legacies of Losing in American Politics* (Princeton University Press).

- Carol Nackenoff is Richter Professor Emerita of Political Science at Swarthmore College, where she taught American politics, constitutional law, environmental politics, and political theory. Her most recent book, with Julie Novkov, is *American by Birth: Wong Kim Ark and the Battle for Citizenship* (University Press of Kansas).
- Alexis Nemecek is a graduate of Marquette University's Graduate and Law Schools, obtaining a master's degree in international affairs in 2018 and a Juris Doctor in 2021. She received her undergraduate degree from Ripon College. Alexis is currently an in-house attorney at Church Mutual Insurance Company, SI, where she also serves on the Company's Women's Leadership Initiative Networking Committee.
- Andrew J. Perrin is SNF Agora Professor of Sociology in the SNF Agora Institute at Johns Hopkins University. His work focuses on issues of democracy, including civic engagement, effects of higher education, and public deliberation. He is the author of numerous articles and books, including American Democracy: From Tocqueville to Town Halls to Twitter (Polity).
- Daniella Sarnoff is the Director, Social Impact Leadership, at Columbia World Projects. She has taught at Xavier University, Fordham University, and New York University. Her recent publications include "An Overview of Women and Gender in French Fascism" published in *The French Right Between the Wars*.
- Ornit Shani is Associate Professor of Politics and Modern Indian History at the University of Haifa. She is the author of *How India Became Democratic: Citizenship and the Making of the Universal Franchise* (Cambridge University Press), which was awarded the Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay New India Foundation Prize.
- Rogers M. Smith is Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Political Science at the University of Pennsylvania. His research focuses on constitutional law, American political thought, and modern legal and political theory, with special interests in questions of citizenship, race, ethnicity, and gender. He is the author of *That is Not Who We Are! Populism and Peoplehood* (Yale University Press).
- Alvin B. Tillery, Jr.'s research interests are in the fields of American politics and political theory. His book *Between Homeland and Motherland: Africa, U.S. Foreign Policy and Black Leadership in America* (Cornell University Press) won the W. E. B. Du Bois Distinguished Book Award from the National Conference of Black Political Scientists.

