CHAPTER III

RESOLUTIONS OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

1. Introduction

The members of the Resolutions Committee 2003-2006 were Christopher J. Corbally (chair, USA), Jocely S. Bell Burnell (UK), Matthew Colless (Australia) Georges Meylan (Switzerland), Silvia Torres-Peimbert (Mexico), Rachel L. Webster (Australia), and Robert Williams (USA).

The report of the Resolutions Committee is presented in Chapter II, section 12.1 of these *Transactions*.

2. Proposed Resolutions

The Resolutions Committee received the following Resolutions of Type B:

Resolution 1.

Adoption of the P03 Precession Theory and Definition of the Ecliptic.

Proposed by: James L. Hilton, Division I WG on "Precession and the Ecliptic". Supported by: Division I.

Resolution 2.

Supplement to the IAU 2000 Resolutions on Reference Systems

Proposed by: Nicole Capitaine, Division I WG on "Nomencalture for Fundamental Astronomy". Supported by: Division I.

Resolution 3.

Re-definition of Barycentric Dynamical Time, TBD

Proposed by: Nicole Capitaine, Division I WG on "Nomencalture for Fundamental Astronomy". Supported by: Division I.

Resolution 4.

Endorsement of the Washington Charter for Communicating Astronomy with the Public

Proposed by: Ian Robson, Division XII WG on "Communicating Astronomy with the Public". Supported by: Division XII.

Resolution 5.

Definition of a Planet in the Solar System

Proposed by: EC Planet Definition Committee. Supported by: Division III.

Resolution 6.

Pluto

Proposed by: EC Planet Definition Committee. Supported by: Division III.