The University of Illinois Law Review Proudly Announces the Fall 1984 Publication of A Symposium in Legal History

A Renaissance in Legal History?

M. H. Hoeflich

Introductory Remarks: Why the History of Western Law Is Not Written

Harold J. Berman

Compensation in a Roman Criminal Law

Michael C. Alexander

Roman History, Roman Law, and Roman Priests: The Common Ground

Richard E. Mitchell

An Approach to Customary Law

Alan Watson

The Theoretical Justification for the New Criminal Law of the High Middle Ages: "Rei Publicae Interest; Ne Crimina Remaneant Impunita"

Richard M. Fraher

From Philosophers to Legislators, and Legislators to Gods: The French Civil Code as Secular Scripture

Shael Herman

Ecclesiastical Jurisdiction in Medieval England

David Millon

Contrasting Sources: Court Rolls and Settlements as Evidence of Hereditary Transmission of Land Amongst Small Landowners in Early Modern England

Lloyd Bonfield

Legitim in English History

R. H. Helmholz

The Tudor Treason Trials: Some Observations on the Emergence of Forensic Themes

Richard L. Marcus

Common Law Juries and Feudal Marriage Customs in Medieval England: The Pleas of Ravishment

Sue Sheridan Walker

Roman and Civil Law in American Legal Education and Research Prior to 1930: A Preliminary Study

M. H. Hoeflich

The Parameters of Constitutional Reconstruction: Slaughter-House, Cruikshank, and the Fourteenth Amendment Robert C. Palmer

Saving God's Republic: The Jurisprudence of Samuel Chase Stephen B. Presser
Becky Bair Hurley

The Relentless Realist: Fred Rodell's Life and Writings G. Beth Packert

Orders for this special issue, Volume 1984, Issue #3, may be sent to:

University of Illinois Law Review 74 Law Building 504 East Pennsylvania Avenue Champaign, IL 61820.

All orders must be accompanied by payment. The cost of this issue is \$10.00.

Fellows of the American Society for Legal History

HONORARY FELLOWS

David Daube
John Dawson
Charles Fairman
George Haskins
J. Willard Hurst
Stephan G. Kuttner
Richard Morris
Gaines Post
Samuel E. Thorne

CORRESPONDING FELLOWS

Raoul C. van Caenegem Helmut Coing Robert Feenstra Alfonso García Gallo Emile Lousse Stroud F. C. Milsom G. O. Sayles Thomas B. Smith Andre Tunc Franz Wieacker

Erwin C. Surrency Prize

1983—Kathryn T. Preyer

American Society for Legal History

Officers and Directors, 1984

Morris S. Arnold, University of Pennsylvania Law School, President

Charles Donahue, Jr., Harvard Law School, Vice President

L. Lynn Hogue, Georgia State University College of Law, Secretary

James W. Ely, Jr., Vanderbilt University School of Law, Treasurer

Board of Directors

Stephen F. Black, Wilmer, Cutler & Pickering

Lawrence M. Friedman, Stanford Law School

Robert W. Gordon, Stanford Law School

Thomas A. Green, University of Michigan Law School and Department of History

Kermit L. Hall, University of Florida

Robert M. Ireland, University of Kentucky

Milton M. Klein, University of Tennessee

David Konig, Washington University, St. Louis

Michael de L. Landon, University of Mississippi

Jennifer Nedelsky, Princeton University

William E. Nelson, New York University School of Law

John V. Orth, University of North Carolina School of Law

Kathryn T. Preyer, Wellesley College

Harry N. Scheiber, University of California, at Berkeley School of Law

Mary K. Bonsteel Tachau, University of Louisville

The Society is the professional association in the United States that promotes study, research, and publication in the history of law and legal institutions. American and non-American members receive the Society's official publication, *Law and History Review*, the Society's Newsletter, discounts on volumes in the series *Studies in Legal History*, published by the University of North Carolina, and notices of meetings and conferences on legal history, including the Society's annual meeting.

| Regular Membership | \$18.00 |
|--------------------------|---------|
| Student Membership | \$10.00 |
| Sustaining Membership | \$35.00 |
| Institutional Membership | \$30.00 |

For applications for membership or further information, write to Craig Joyce, Chairman, Membership Committee, Vanderbilt University School of Law, Nashville, Tennessee 37240.