COMMISSION 38: EXCHANGE OF ASTRONOMERS (ECHANCE DES ASTRONOMES) (Committee of the Executive Committee) President: F. B. Wood Vice President: E. A. Muller

Organizing Committee (Comite d'Organisation): A. A. Boyarchuk, J. Delhaye, D. A. MacRae, P. H. Routly, J. Sahade, F. G. Smith, C. R. Tolbert, H. H. Voight, S. H. Ye

While the chief function and methods of operation of the Commission have remained much the same as in the past, there has been a gradual evolution in the nature of the proposals submitted. A greater fraction now come from countries in which the study of astronomy on a professional basis is as yet very recent and more proposals are being received from relatively young astronomers, although admittedly the distinction between a "young" and an "established" astronomer is not always easy to make. The commission may wish to consider whether or not it is advisable to reconsider its guidelines. Grants awarded during the interval 30 November 1981 and 31 January 1985 were the following.

Grantee	Origin	Destination
C. E. Akujor	Nigeria	India/France
P. Chen	China	USA
E. Corbelli	Italy	USA
M. K. Das	India	England
V. N. Dermendjiev	Bulgaria	France
S. K. Jain	India	England
L. Jing	China	Scotland
M. Kaisig	Germany	USA
S. Manorama	India	Italy
M. V. Mekkanden	India	Germany
M. Melozzi	Italy	USA
R. Morris	Argentina	USA
T. Nagata	Japan	Australia
V. S. Niemela	Argentina	France
R. Nityananda	India	USA
KD. Oh	Korea	USA
A. R. Patnaik	India	USA
Y. Sobouti	Iran	USA
C. Sterken	Belgium	New Zealand
K. Subramanian	India	England
J. Trujillo	Germany	USA
R. J. Wainscoat	Australia	Netherlands
Y. Wu	China	USA

Approximately half this number of applications could not be granted because they were not within the guidelines set for the Commission (see IAU Information Bulletin no. 50). Further, a number of preliminary inquiries were not followed up when copies of the guidelines were sent. In a few cases, prospective grantees received funds from other sources and then did not require Commission 38 support. A few applications are still under consideration.

Thanks are due to Prof. Edith Müller, Prof. J. Delhaye and Mrs. Vicki Leino for valuable help in preparing this report.