## **Association News**

## Reports on the 1981 Annual Meeting

## Council Approves Sections, New Publications Committee, and Evron M. Kirkpatrick Fund

In a move intended to expand the services of APSA, the governing body of APSA approved the establishment of sections or organized subfields at its biannual meeting September 2 in New York. The APSA Council also instructed the Administrative Committee, which had originally recommended this action, "to prepare a set of guidelines for the promotion, organization, and operations of these sections or subfields for consideration by the Council at its next meeting," according to the resolution offered by Charles O. Jones and unanimously approved by the Council.

The Administrative Committee was specifically instructed by the Council to resolve a myriad of unanswered questions and to consult with subfield groups already in existence in the APSA, as well as other professional scientific associations. Potentially, such disparate groups as the Women's Caucus for Political Science, the British Politics Group, the Foundations of Political Theory Group, or the Conference Group on the Political Economy of Advanced Industrial Societies could each elect to be a section within APSA, depending on the recommendations made by the Administrative Committee and accepted by the Council and on the wishes of these groups. Currently, these and other groups exist as entities separate from APSA but hold meetings in conjunction with APSA's Annual Meeting. In addition, new groups could form into APSA sections.

In other action the Council approved the formation of a new Committee on Publications to oversee and coordinate existing APSA publications, to develop a style

780

manual for work in political science, and to propose new APSA-sponsored publications. In the same motion by Dorothy B. James, the Council agreed to arrange for an APSA member discount on related scholarly journals and magazines.

The proposal to establish a Publications Committee had been offered by Charles O. Jones, managing editor of the American Political Science Review, in his final editor's report (reprinted in the PS Appendix in this issue). The Council unanimously commended Jones for his five years of dedicated work as editor of AP-SR. The two Book Review Editors, Paul Allen Beck and Holbert N. Carroll, were also commended for doing an outstanding job during Jones' term as editor.

In his executive director's report, Thomas Mann also proposed a commendation as he recommended that the Council establish the Evron M. Kirkpatrick Fund for the study of political science as a discipline and a profession. The Council unanimously adopted the proposal and launched the Fund with a \$5,000 contribution from the Trust and Development Fund, upon approval of the Fund's Board of Trustees. (Further details on Kirkpatrick Fund in honor of former executive director Evron M. Kirkpatrick will be provided in a separate article in the next issue of *PS*.)

In other business the Council:

• approved President-Elect Seymour Martin Lipset's proposed committee appointments;

• directed the National Office to conduct research on incentives to sustain and increase membership;

• authorized continued activity to increase support for the social science research community, including a fair-share contribution to continue a legislative office under the auspices of the Consortium of Social Science Associations;

• heard a report from William J. Keefe, Treasurer and chair of the Trust and Development Board of Trustees (reprinted in the *PS* Appendix of this issue);

• reviewed and reiterated the policy of mandatory pre-registration for all Annual Meeting participants;

• approved a resolution aimed at assisting political scientists seeking non-academic employment;

• authorized 1982 Program Chair Ada Finifter to publish a book of abstracts of official program papers and to distribute copies of the book to members as part of the registration package at the 1982 Annual Meeting;

• discharged the Committee on Professional Development and shifted that committee's work to the newly established Committee on Nonacademic Political Scientists;

• approved unanimously the Education Committee's recommendation that a pro-



Council Members Samuel A. Kirkpatrick and John Ferejohn at the September Council Meeting in New York.

Photo by Norinne Hessman



Council Member Bernard C. Cohen and APSA Treasurer William J. Keefe consider a resolution offered at the September Council Meeting.

Photo by Norinne Hessman

posal be developed for a college-level telecommunications course on Congress;

• approved without objection that the APSA join with the American Historical Association, the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press, and the Society of Professional Journalists to request support from the Mellon Foundation for an expanded Freedom of Information Service Center; and

• commended President Ed Lindblom "for the excellent job he has done presiding at Council meetings."

(The complete text of Council minutes is reprinted in the *PS* Appendix.)

## Berkeley Sweeps Dissertation Prizes; Almond and Gosnell Win Career Awards

Three Berkeley students, Thomas M. Callaghy, Byron E. Shafer and J. Serge Taylor won awards for the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted in 1979 or 1980 in their respective fields. Callaghy, whose dissertation committee chairman was Carl G. Rosberg, won the Gabriel A. Almond Award for the best dissertation in comparative politics. The E. E. Schattschneider Award for the outstanding thesis in American politics was given to Shafer for his dissertation on Democratic Party reform. Shafer's chair-