DIVISON VIII

GALAXIES AND THE UNIVERSE

Division VIII gathers astronomers engaged in the study of the visible and invisible matter in the Universe at large, from Local Group galaxies via distant galaxies and galaxy clusters to the large-scale structure of the Universe and the cosmic background radiation.

PRESIDENT Virginia L Trimble

University of Maryland

Astronomy Dpt

College Park MD 20742

USA

Tel:+1-301 405 5822

Fax:+1-301 314 9067

Email: vtrimble@astro.umd.edu

BOARD

F. Bertola Past President Commission 28

M. Birkinshaw Division webmaster

S. Lilly Vice President Commission 47
S. Okamura President Commission 28
J. Peacock President Commission 47
E. Sadler Vice President Commission 28
P. Shaver Past President Division VIII
A. Szalay Past President Commission 47

PARTICIPATING COMMISSIONS

COMMISSION 28: GALAXIES

COMMISSION 47: COSMOLOGY

DIVISION VIII: GALAXIES AND THE UNIVERSE

(LES GALAXIES ET L'UNIVERS)

PRESIDENT: Peter Shaver

BOARD: F. Bertola, J. Narlikar, S. Okamura, J. Peacock, A. Szalay, V. Trimble

Commission 28: Galaxies
Commission 47: Cosmology

1. Report of Business Meeting, August 11, 2000

Attendance F. Bertola, J.R. Bond, R. Davies, R. Ekers, M. Feast, J. Felten, L. Gurvits, R. Hunstead, E. Khachikian, P. Lilje, C. Lineweaver, M. MacCallum, J. Mould, J. Narlikar, S. Okamura, B. Partridge, J. Peacock, S. Refsdal, B. Roukema, P. Shaver, S. Simkin, A. Szalay, V. Trimble, B. Tully, M. Wanas, R. Williams

This was a joint meeting of Division VIII and its two Commissions, 28 and 47. The reports and approval of new officers of the two Commissions took place first, and are reported separately in this volume.

Division VIII Officers, Triennium 2000-2003 The Division VIII Board includes the President, vice President and past President of each of the two Commissions, and a Division President who is nominated by the Board. These appointments were approved at the meeting. In addition, three additional nominations were made and approved at the meeting. The new Board of Division VIII is as follows:

PRESIDENT: V. Trimble

BOARD: F. Bertola (Division President-Elect; PP Com 28)

M. Birkinshaw (Division webmaster)

S. Lilly (Vice President, Commission 47)
S. Okamura (President, Commission 28)
J. Peacock (President, Commission 47)
E. Sadler (Vice President, Commission 28)
P. Shaver (past President, Division VIII)
A. Szalay (past President, Commission 47)

2. Scientific Meetings

A summary was presented of the scientific meetings that had been supported/sponsored by Division VIII and its two Commissions over the past triennium: 11 Symposia, 5 Colloquia and 3 Joint Discussions. Of these, the following took place at the General Assembly in Manchester:

- Symp. 201: New Cosmological Data and the Values of the Fundamental Parameters
- Symp. 204: The Extragalactic Infrared Background and its Cosmological Implications

- Symp. 205: Galaxies and their Constituents at the Highest Angular Resolutions
- JD 8: Oxygen Abundances in Old Stars, Implications to Nucleosynthesis & Cosmology
- JD 9: Cold Gas and Dust at High Redshift
- JD 10: Cluster Mergers and their Connection to Radio Sources

The following four meetings are supported for 2001:

- Extragalactic Star Clusters (E. Grebel; Pucon, Chile)
- Planetary Nebulae (M. Dopita; Canberra, Australia)
- Cosmic Masers (V. Migenes; Rio de Janiero, Brazil)
- AGN Surveys (A. Mickaelian; Byurakan, Armenia)

3. Discussion

A number of points were raised for general discussion:

- Communications. A renewed effort will be made to reach all members of both Commissions by e-mail, so that regular newsletters can be sent, and a new and more comprehensive website will be established. Susan Simkin agreed to act as email coordinator.
- 2. Organization of the Division. As in previous years, it was decided to leave the Divisional structure unchanged, with no new Commissions proposed. The intention of Div XI to establish a new Commission on Astroparticle Physics was supported. The possibility of creating new Working Groups was discussed, and will be further explored in upcoming newsletters.
- Reports on Astronomy. The continuing need for such reports as reference sources for both researchers and historians was generally agreed, and possible formats were discussed.
- 4. Format of the General Assembly. There was a brief discussion about the structure of the General Assembly, in particular whether somewhat more time should be made available for meetings organized by the Divisions and Commissions.

The President thanked the Board members for the pleasant and productive collaboration over the past triennium, and welcomed his successor Virginia Trimble and the new members of the Board. He also thanked the General Secretary, Assistant General Secretary and IAU Secretariat for their help on administrative matters. In turn, the participants of the meeting thanked the President for his efforts over the past three years.

Peter Shaver President of the Division

COMMISSION 28: GALAXIES

(GALAXIES)

PRESIDENT: Francesco Bertola VICE-PRESIDENT: Sadanori Okamura ORGANIZING COMMITTEE: C. Balkowski, D. Brustein, S. Chakrabarti P. de Zeeuw, M. Feast, J. Huchra, V. Trimble, R. Wielebinski, A. Zason, Z.-L. Zou

Report of the business meeting of Commission 28 held on August 11, 2000

The meeting was held jointly with Commission 47 and Division VIII. For matters of common interest see the Division VIII report.

The President remembered with sorrow the following members deceased since the Kyoto General Assembly: David Emerson, Jean Heidmann, Erik Holmberg, Wilhelmina Iwanowska, Vijay Kapahi, Gabriel Kojoian, Paul Kustaanheimo, Barry Lasker, Paris Pismis de Recillas, Dennis Sciama, Björn Sundelius, Richard White.

A list of 86 new members to be admitted to the IAU at the General Assembly, who had expressed desire to be members of Commission 28, was approved. To this list the name of Areg Mickaelian (Armenia), already an IAU member, has to be added following his request to the President.

Members of the Commission before 1997 GA were 668, and 97 new members were approved at 1997 GA, totaling to 765. The three-year effort, carried out by the Vice President, to update the membership of the Commission resulted in the following:

Those who want to be members	642
Those who no longer wish to be members	46
Letter and/or e-mail not returned, but no answer	47
Unable to reach by either letter or e-mail	14
No entry in the IAU member list	5

The following officers for the triennium 2000-2003 were approved:

Cadamani Olamana	Innan Danidant
Sadanori Okamura	Japan, President
Elaine Sadler	Australia, Vice President
Chantal Balkowski-Mauger	France
Francesco Bertola	Italy
James Binney	UK
David Burstein	USA
Pieter de Zeeuw	Netherlands
Anthony Fairall	South Africa
Timothy Heckman	USA
Simon Lilly	Canada
Zhen-Long Zou	China PR

The President expressed his appreciation for the outgoing members Sandip Chakrabarti (India), Michael Feast (South Africa), John Huchra (USA), Virginia Trimble (USA), Richard Wielebinski (Germany) and welcomed the new President and the new members of the OC.

A discussion took place on how to name newly discovered companions to M 31. After consultation with the IAU Task Group on Astronomical Designations it was decided to strongly recommend that authors quote all the names given to a companion galaxy at least once in each paper.

Francesco Bertola
President of the Commission

H. Rickman (ed.), Transactions of the International Astronomical Union, Vol. XXIVB, 207-207. © 2001 IAU. Printed in the United States of America.

COMMISSION 47: COSMOLOGY

(COSMOLOGIE)

PRESIDENT: Alexandre S. Szalay VICE-PRESIDENT: Anthony Peacock ORGANIZING COMMITTEE: Y. Chu, L. da Costa, J. Einasto, G. Ellis, D. Koo, S. Lilly, J. Narlikar, J. Peacock, P. Shaver, R. Webster, S. White, A. Wolfe

No report has been received on the Business Session of Commission 47.

See the Division VIII Report.