as Vice-Presidents for the period 1973-1979: Mr J. G. Bolton, Australia

Prof. Ch. Fehrenbach, France

Prof. W. Iwanowska, Poland

as General Secretary for the period 1973-1976:

Prof. G. Contopoulos, Greece

as Assistant General Secretary for the period 1973-1976: Prof. Edith A. Müller, Switzerland The full Executive Committee would thus consist of the above six together with:

the continuing Vice-Presidents:

Prof. B. J. Bok, U.S.A.

Sir Bernard Lovell, U.K.

and in an advisory capacity:

Prof. E. R. Mustel, U.S.S.R.

Prof. B. Strömgren, outgoing President,

Denmark,

Prof. C. de Jager, outgoing General

Secretary, The Netherlands

In accord with Article 13(c) of the By-laws, the formal election would take place at the final session of the General Assembly.

6. Announcements. Called on by the President, the General Secretary read:

(a) the names of representatives of Adhering Countries, empowered to vote on their behalf;

(b) the names of representatives of Adhering Countries on the Nominating Committee.

Country

Argentina

Australia Austria

Belgium

Bulgaria

Canada

Colombia

Denmark

Finland

France

F.R.G.

G.D.R.

Greece

Iran

Ireland

Israel

Italy

Japan

Mexico

Norway

Poland

Korea, D.P.R.

Netherlands

New Zealand

Hungary India

Czechoslovakia

Brazil

Chile

Cuba

(a) Official Representative

(b) Representative on Nominat-

ing Committee
J. Sahade
J. H. Carver

not represented P. Ledoux

J. Sahade H. W. Wood not represented

P. Swings
L. Muniz Barreto

L. Muniz Barreto not represented

K. O. Wright
C. Anguita
E. Brieva

not represented V. Vanýsek M. Rudkjøbing

J. Tuominen
J.-C. Pecker
M. Grewing

G. Ruben L. N. Mavridis L. Detre

S. K. Trehan not represented P. K. Carrol

Y Ne'eman M. G. Fracastoro

Y Fujita not represented P. Pişmiş J. Borgman

F. M. Bateson E. Jensen W. Iwanowska S. Ferraz Mello not represented F. D. A. Hartwick C. Anguita E. Brieva not represented V. Bumba

V. Bumba K. Gyldenkerne J. Tuominen J. Kovalevsky

M. Grewing
G. Ruben
J. Argyrakos

B. SzeidlG. Swarupnot represented

P. K. Carrol S. Cuperman M. Hack

S. Miyamoto not represented

P. Pişmiş J. Borgman F. M. Bateson Ö. Elgaröy

W. Iwanowska

https://doi.org/10.1017/S0251107X00031102 Published online by Cambridge University Press

R. O. Vicente R. O. Vicente **Portugal** Roumania not represented not represented E. E. Baart South Africa G. G. Cillié A. Orte L. Quijano Spain T. Oia Sweden G. Larsson-Leander U. Steinlin Switzerland M. Golay Taiwan not represented not represented Turkey not represented not represented A. S. Asaad U.A.R. A. S. Asaad R. J. Tayler U.K. R. H. Stoy not represented Uruguay not represented U.S.A. D. S. Heeschen G. Westerhout U.S.S.R. V. B. Nikonov Yu. N. Parijskij P. J. Treanor M. F. McCarthy Vatical City State J. Stock J. Stock Venezuela Yugoslavia G. Teleki G. Teleki

Note: In some cases National Committees designated substitute delegates. In order to simplify the above list the names of the substitute delegates have been omitted.

- (c) Acting Presidents. The General Secretary announced that the Executive Committee had asked: V. Szebehely to act for G. N. Duboshin as President of Commission No. 7 until the arrival of the latter
  - M. Golay to act for D. L. Crawford as President of Commission No. 25
  - A. H. Batten to act for R. Bouigue as President of Commission No. 30
  - D. MacRea to act for A. Reiz as President of Commission No. 38
  - A. Hayli to act for O. Gingerich as President of Commission No. 41
- M. J. Rees to act for Ya. B. Zel'dovich as President of Commission No. 47, and for H.Friedman as President of Commission 48.

The acting Presidents were appointed for the duration of the General Assembly.

7. Appointment of the Finance Committee. In accord with Article 18(a) of the By-laws the General Assembly appointed the following Finance Committee consisting of one representative of each Adhering Country:

Argentina	J. Sahade	Japan	S. Miyamoto
Australia	A. G. Little	Korea, D.P.R.	not represented
Austria	not represented	Mexico	M. Peimbert-Sierra
Belgium	P. Ledoux	Netherlands	H. Habing
Brazil	P. Kaufmann	New Zealand	F M. Bateson
Bulgaria	not represented	Norway	E. Jensen
Canada	J. L. Locke	Poland	W. Iwanowska
Chile	C. Anguita	Portugal	R. O. Vicente
Colombia	E. Brieva	Roumania	not represented
Cuba	not represented	South Africa	G. G. Cillié
Czechoslovakia	L. Perek	Spain	L. Quijano
Denmark	H. E. Jørgensen	Sweden	P. O. Lindblad
Finland	J. Tuominen	Switzerland	B. Hauck
France	S. Débarbat	Taiwan	not represented
F.R.G.	W. Fricke	Turkey	not represented
G.D.R.	G. Ruben	U.A.R.	A. S. Asaad
Greece	L. N. Mavridis	U.K.	D. W. Stibbs
Hungary	L. Dezső	Uruguay	not represented