HISTORY OF ECONOMICS SOCIETY BULLETIN

Volume 10, No. 1

Spring, 1988

HESB

Published semiannually by The History of Economics Society at Vanderbilt University

© Copyright 1988

HISTORY OF ECONOMICS SOCIETY'S DISTINGUISHED FELLOWS

William Jaffé	1980
Joseph J. Spengler	1981
Joseph Dorfman	1982
Frank W. Fetter	1982
George J. Stigler	1983
Lord Robbins	1984
Terence W. Hutchison	1984
G. L. S. Shackle	1985
Fredrich A. von Hayek	1985
Robert Denis Collison Black	1987

i

HISTORY OF ECONOMICS SOCIETY

Executive Committee, 1987-1988

Ex Officio Members

President

Professor Donald A. Walker Department of Economics 148 Keith Hall Indiana University of Pennsylvania Indiana, PA 15705

Vice President

Professor John Elliott Department of Economics University of Southern California University Park Los Angeles, CA 90089-0037

Past President

Professor A.W. Coats Department of History University of Nottingham Nottingham N972RD, ENGLAND

President Elect

Professor Donald E. Moggridge Department of Economics University of Toronto 150 St. George Street Toronto, CANADA M5S 1A1

Past President

Professor Abraham Hirsch 41 Beverly Road Upper Montclair, NJ 07043

Secretary-Treasurer

Professor Patrick Raines Department of Economics University of Richmond Richmond, VA 23173

Elected Members

Professor Y.S. Brenner (1988) Faculteit der Sociale Wetenschappen Department of Economics Heidelberglaan 1 Rijkuniversiteit te Utrecht Postbus 80140 3508 TC Utrecht THE NETHERLANDS

Professor Bruce J. Caldwell (1989) Department of Economics University of North Carolina Greensboro, NC 27412

Professor Malcolm Rutherford (1988) University of Victoria P. O. Box 1700 Victoria, British Columbia CANADA V8W 2Y2

Professor James P. Henderson (1990) Department of Economics Valparaiso University Valparaiso, IN 46383

All communications regarding material for possible inclusion in the H.E.S. Bulletin should be addressed to: Professor William O. Thweatt, Editor

H.E.S. Bulletin Box 206-B Vanderbilt University Nashville TN 37235

All submissions should be typed and double-spaced (including footnotes). Requests for institutional subscriptions, membership information as well as notices of address changes should be sent to Patrick Raines, the H.E.S. Secretary-Treasurer whose address appears above.

HESB

93

· CONTENTS

From the Editor	iv
Articles	
What is an Empiricist? Wesley Clair Mitchell in Broader Perspective, Presidential Address to HES, June, 1988 Abraham Hirsch	1
The 'Whig Historian' Adam Smith: Paul Samuelson's Canonical Classical Model Cigdem Kurdas	13
Schumpeter's Treatment of Samuelson Warren Samuels	25
The Role of Money in Keynes' Treatise Credit Market Model Michael J. Gootzeit	33
Schumpeter and Galbraith: A Comparative Analysis On the Modern Corporate Economy Dale L. Cramer and Charles G. Leathers	47
The American Methodenstreit Gary Mongiovi	57

Notes

Citation Counts for Nobel Prize Winners in Economics Arthur M. Diamond	67
Johann Heinrich von Thunenn's Masterpiece: A Misleading Title on Two Counts Horst Claus Recktenwald	71
On Discovering a Second 'Freak' Copy of Ricardo's <i>Principles</i> and the Say-Archives Arnold Heertje	75
Alexander Rustow Commemorated Gerrit Meijer	77
Preliminary Program, HES Annual Meeting, Toronto, Canada June 19 - 21, 1988	81

Announcements and Notices

iii