## BULLETIN

OF THE

# BRITISH SOCIETY

FOR THE

# HISTORY OF SCIENCE

VOL. 2

June, 1955

No. 12

#### CONTENTS

Presidential Address (1955), by Dr. H. Hamshaw Thomas, M.B.E.,	PAGE
F.R.S. EXPERIMENTAL PLANT BIOLOGY IN PRE-LINNEAN TIMES	
ROOF REVIEWS	(

## **BULLETIN**

### OF THE

## **BRITISH SOCIETY**

### FOR THE

## HISTORY OF SCIENCE

VOL. 2 JUNE 1955 No. 12

#### CONTENTS

I	age
PRESIDENTIAL ADDRESS (1955), BY DR. H. HAMSHAW THOMAS, M.B.E.,	
F.R.S. EXPERIMENTAL PLANT BIOLOGY IN PRE-LINNEAN TIMES .	1
BOOK REVIEWS	9

#### OFFICERS AND COUNCIL

#### PRESIDENT

Professor HERBERT DINGLE

#### VICE-PRESIDENTS

Dr. Angus Armitage Thomas Martin, Esq. Prof. Charles Singer Dr. F. SHERWOOD TAYLOR

Dr. H. HAMSHAW THOMAS, M.B.E., F.R.S.

Dr. G. J. Whitrow

#### HONORARY SECRETARY

F. H. C. BUTLER, Esq. Ravensmead, Keston, Kent.

#### HONORARY TREASURER

Dr. H. R. CALVERT

#### EDITOR (Bulletin)

Dr. N. H. DE V. HEATHCOTE

Department of the History and Philosophy of Science, University College, Gower Street, London, W.C.1

#### ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COUNCIL

J. A. CHALDECOTT, Esq. Dr. A. C. CROMBIE Mrs. J. M. EYLES Dr. DOROTHY FEYER Dr. A. R. HALL Dr. H. HEYWOOD Prof. J. R. Partington, M.B.E.

Dr. D. J. PRICE Prof. L. ROSENFELD Prof. E. G. R. TAYLOR

## PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE GROUP CHAIRMAN

Dr. G. J. WHITROW

## VICE-CHAIRMEN

Prof. H. DINGLE Prof. J. H. WOODGER Prof. K. R. POPPER L. L. WHYTE, Esq.

#### HONORARY SECRETARY

Dr. E. H. HUTTEN

#### ACTING HON. SECRETARY

R. F. J. WITHERS, Esq.

#### EDITOR (British Journal for the Philosophy of Science)

Dr. J. O. WISDOM, London School of Economics, London, W.C.2

#### ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COMMITTEE

Dr. A. C. CROMBIE Prof. R. O. KAPP

Dr. W. Mays (representing Northern Branch)

Ordinary membership of the British Society for the History of Science is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members, approved by the Council, and elected at an Ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Society is at present £3 3s. 0d., payable to the Treasurer on 1st May in each year. Members of the Society receive Annals of Science and the Society's Bulletin.

Ordinary Membership of the Philosophy of Science Group is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members of the Group, approved by the Committee and elected at an Ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Group is 10s. 6d. Members of the Group may obtain the *British Journal for the Philosophy of Science* for the reduced annual subscription of £1 2s. 0d. Members of the British Society for the History of Science are not required to pay a subscription as Members of the Group.

Published by The Society,