About the Materials Research Society

The Materials Research Society (MRS), a not-forprofit scientific association founded in 1973, promotes interdisciplinary goal-oriented basic research on materials of technological importance. Membership in the Society includes almost 16,000 scientists, engineers, and research managers from industrial, government, and university research laboratories in the United States and close to 70 countries.

The Society's interdisciplinary approach differs from that of single-discipline professional societies because it promotes information exchange across the many technical fields touching materials development. MRS sponsors two major international annual meetings encompassing approximately 90 topical symposia, and also sponsors numerous single-topic scientific meetings. The Society recognizes professional and technical excellence and fosters technical interaction in local geographic regions through Sections and University Chapters.

MRS participates in the international arena of materials research through the International Union of Materials Research Societies (IUMRS). MRS is a member of ASTRA and is an affiliate of the American Institute of Physics.

MRS publishes symposium proceedings, MRS Bulletin, Journal of Materials Research, and other pub-

lications related to current research activities.

MRS Bulletin (ISSN: 0883-7694, print; ISSN 1938-1425, online) is published monthly by the Materials Research Society, 506 Keystone Drive, Warrendale, PA 15086-7573. Copyright ©2010, Materials Research Society. Permission required to reproduce content. Periodical postage paid at Warrendale, PA, and at additional mailing offices. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to MRS Bulletin in care of the Materials Research Society, at the address listed; tel. 724-779-3003; fax 724-779-8313. Printed in the U.S.A.

Membership in MRS is \$115 annually for regular members, \$30 for students. Dues include an allocation of \$29 (\$17 for students) to a subscription to MRS Bulletin. Individual member subscriptions are for personal use only. Non-member subscription rates are \$300 for one calendar year (12 issues) within the U.S.A. and \$360 elsewhere. Single copies may be purchased for \$55 each. Requests from subscribers for missing journal issues will be honored without charge only if received within six months of the issue's actual date of publication; otherwise, the issue may be purchased at the single-copy price.

MRS Bulletin is included in Current Contents®/ Engineering, Computing, and Technology; Current Contents®/Physical, Chemical, and Earth Sciences, the SciSearch® online database, Research Alert®, Science Citation Index®, and the Materials Science Citation Index[™]. Back volumes of MRS Bulletin are available on microfiche through University Microfilms Inc., 300 North Zeeb Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48106, USA

Send Letters to the Editor to:

MRS Bulletin Materials Research Society 506 Keystone Drive Warrendale, PA 15086-7573 USA Fax 724-779-8313 Bulletin@mrs.org

Letters must include your name, affiliation, and full contact information.

MRS BULLETIN

Editorial Office • 506 Keystone Drive • Warrendale, PA 15086-7573 USA Tel. 724-779-2747; fax 724-779-8313; Bulletin@mrs.org; http://www.mrs.org/

Editor

E.L. Fleischer

Managing Editor

J. Meiksin

Technical Editor

L. Wilson

Associate Technical Editor

T. Palucka

Editorial Assistant

B. Moriarty

Guest Editors

C. Eberl and T. Saif

Special Contributors

R. Armstrong, B.V.R. Chowdari, S. Cooper, K.P. Herlihy, G. Kiriakidis, J. Li, C. McCormick, M. Meyers,

G.R. Rao, S. Trohalaki, and T.D. Ziebell

Special Consultant

A. Sellinger

InterFaces

C. Trager-Cowan (Chair), Y.-T. Cheng,

A. Misra, and U. Ramamurty

L. Fornaro

Montevideo, Uruguay

Stuttgart, Germany

Ithaca, NY

L.J. Olafsen **Baylor University** MRS Office of Public Affairs

R. Kelley

499 South Capitol Street SW. Suite 600, Washington, DC 20003

Art Director

K. Bruniany

Production/Design

Franklin Design and SPI Technologies, Inc.

Advertising

M.E. Kaufold and D.L. Watterson

Circulation

M. Judt

EDITORIAL BOARD

P.S. Drzaic, Chair Drzaic Consulting Services Morgan Hill, CA

V.S. Arunachalam Center for Study of Science, Technology & Policy Bangalore, India

M.-I. Baraton University of Limoges Limoges, France

R.C. Cammarata Johns Hopkins University Baltimore, MD

University of Uruguay

H.-U. Habermeier Max Planck Institute

S.C. Moss Aerospace Corp. Los Angeles, CA

J.A. Nucci Cornell University

Waco, TX

D.N. Seidman

Northwestern University Evanston, IL

C. Trager-Cowan University of Strathclyde Glasgow, UK

J.R. Weertman Northwestern University Evanston, IL

E. Werwa Washington, DC

S.M. Yalisove University of Michigan Ann Arbor, MI

VOLUME ORGANIZERS

2009

A. Misra Los Alamos National Laboratory

2010

T.J. Balk

University of Kentucky

2011

K.-S. Choi **Purdue University**

L. Jiang Chinese Academy of Sciences R. O'Hayre

Colorado School of Mines

D. Cahen Weizmann Institute of

Science

R.T. Collins

S. Kalinin

Colorado School of Mines

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

University of Leeds

F. Meldrum

S. Lacour

K Shull

G. Redmond University College Dublin

University of Cambridge

Northwestern University

Santa Barbara S. Streiffer Argonne National

University of California,

S Stemmer

Laboratory

S.E. Shaheen University of Denver

S. Moss Aerospace Corp.

2010 MRS OFFICERS

President

D.S. Ginley

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Vice President and President-Elect J.J. De Yoreo Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Secretary B.J.H. Stadler University of Minnesota

Treasurer

M. Fitzsimmons Los Alamos National Laboratory Immediate Past President S P Baker

Cornell University

Executive Director Materials Research Society

T. Osman

INTERNATIONAL UNION OF MATERIALS RESEARCH SOCIETIES

President H Katz Johns Hopkins University Baltimore, MD, USA

First Vice President B.V.R. Chowdari Natl. Univ. of Singapore

Singapore

Second Vice President O. Takai Nagoya University Japan

Secretary Q. Feng University of Science and Technology Beijing, China

Treasurer Y Han Inst. of Aeronautical Materials

Beijing, China

Immediate Past President G.M. Crean Atomic Energy Commission Grenoble, France

General Secretary R.P.H. Chang Northwestern University Evanston, IL, USA

IUMRS ADHERING BODIES

Australian Materials Research Society (A-MRS) J.S. Williams, Australian National University

Brazil Materials Research Society (B-MRS) F. Lázaro Freire Jr., PUC-Rio

Chinese Materials Research Society (C-MRS) X. Peng, Beijing, China European Materials Research Society (E-MRS)

F. Priolo, INFM

Materials Research Society (MRS) D.S. Ginley, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Materials Research Society of Argentina (MRS-Argentina) J. Ovejero García, CNEA

Materials Research Society of India (MRS-I) T. Ramasami, Ministry of Science and Technology

Materials Research Society of Japan (MRS-J) N. Kishimoto, National Institute for Materials Science Materials Research Society of Korea (MRS-K)

Materials Research Society of Russia (MRS-Russia) N.Z. Lyakhov, Russian Academy of Sciences

J.-W. Park, Hanyang University

Materials Research Society of Singapore (MRS-S) B.V.R. Chowdari, National University of Singapore

Materials Research Society of Taiwan (MRS-T) T.P. Perng, Yuan Ze University

Mexican Materials Research Society (Mexican-MRS) P.H. Hernández Tejeda, Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla