ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

R. Giacconi, Chairman (U.S.A.)

G. Fazio (U.S.A.)

C. Fichtel (U.S.A.)

H. C. van de Hulst (Netherlands)

H. Friedman (U.S.A.)

M. Oda (Japan)

M. Rees (United Kingdom)

Yash Pal (India)

L. Gratton (Italy)

K. A. Pounds (United Kingdom)

S. L. Mandel'shtam (U.S.S.R.)

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The editors are grateful to numerous people and organizations for their assistance in organizing the Symposium. In particular, we mention the International Astronomical Union, the Committee on Space Research, the organizing committee, especially Drs G. Fazio and Y. Pal for arranging panel discussions, and Dr Z. Niemirowicz of COSPAR. We also thank the following for their assistance in preparing this volume: the invited speakers/authors, their secretaries and colleagues, the reviewers of the manuscripts (Drs K. Brecher, G. Frye, P. Gorenstein, H. Gursky, R. Hjellming, E. Kellogg, W. Kraushaar, J. McClintock, R. Palmieri, D. Schwartz, H. Tananbaum, A. Treves, and W. Tucker), and Mr Ostendorf of Reidel/Dordrecht. Finally, we are grateful to our secretaries, Mrs Polly Sullivan and Miss Diana Valderrama, for their efforts on behalf of the Symposium.

The Symposium was sponsored by Commissions 44 and 48 of the IAU and cosponsored by COSPAR.