Parties Sections Honors Epstein, Schlesinger, Eldersveld	Fall 1986	886
Policy Studies Awards Presented	Fall 1986	887
Section on Religion and Politics Invites Participation	Fall 1986	888
APSA Organized Sections: A List and Guidelines	Fall 1986	991
New Sections Encourage Members	Winter 1987	73

## Treasurer's Report

1985-86 Report Fall 1986 982

## UK's Jewell to Head Oral History Project

Malcolm E. Jewell, chairman of the University of Kentucky political science department, has been named director of the Pi Sigma Alpha and American Political Science Association's oral history project in political science.

The purpose of the project is to interview political scientists to document the growth of the academic discipline.

The project is being moved to the University of Kentucky (UK) campus from the society's Washington, D.C., headquarters in coordination with the American Political Science Association.

At UK, the project will be housed in the oral history section of King Library. "UK has an on-going oral history project," Jewell said. Terry L. Birdwhistell heads the UK oral history project, located in the special collections department.

About 20 political scientists have been interviewed nationwide and about 15 more will be interviewed by political scientists throughout the U.S. during the next two years, Jewell added.

The transfer of the project to UK includes a \$10,000 per year grant to fund the collection of additional oral histories.

It is anticipated that a volume containing the oral histories will be edited later by UK political scientists Michael Baer, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, and Lee Sigelman.

## APSA Research Grantees Announced for 1987

The APSA Research Support Committee announced the 1987 Research Grantees

on May 1. The Council established the Research Grant Program in 1984, and authorized \$15,000 for 1987 research grants. To be eligible for a grant, applicants must be APSA members and must either be a faculty member at a non-Ph.D. granting college or university or be a political scientist not affiliated with an academic institution. Funds are used for research that addresses a significant problem in political science.

The Selection Committee, composed of Elinor Ostrom, Indiana University, Chair; Jeanne N. Clarke, University of Arizona; Paul Hammond, University of Pittsburgh; Huey Perry, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill; Howard J. Wiarda, American Enterprise Institute; and Richard F. Winters, Dartmouth College, reviewed 39 applications and awarded 12 grants for 1987. The grantees are:

Andrea Bonnicksen, Eastern Illinois University. "From Laboratories to Legislatures: Building a Policy of In Vitro Fertilization." \$1,500.

Byron Dare, Fort Lewis College. Untitled. \$295.

**Richard C. Felock,** University of Miami. "Municipal Representation, Constituency Choice and Economic Development."

Miriam G. Golden, Wesleyan University. "Innovation by Labor Movements: Britain, Italy and Belgium in the Economic Crises of 1873-96, the 1930s, and the 1970s-80s." \$1,500.

**Karen M. Hult,** Pomona College. "Governing the White House: The Presidency as an Organization." \$1,300.

Otwin Marenin, Unaffiliated. "The National Youth Service Corps of Nigeria." \$1.500.

Barbara Ann Perry and Donald L. Davison, University of Central Florida.