Ecclesiastical Law Journal

Volume 2

CONTENTS

ľ
l
ļ
8
ł
•
6
l
,
1
5
9
į

The Journal of the Ecclesiastical Law Society

The Ecclesiastical Law Journal is published by the Ecclesiastical Law Society. All enquiries should be addressed to The Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Society, c/o 1 The Sanctuary, Westminster, London SW1P 3JT, (Tel. 071 222 5381).

ISSN 0956-618X

Items from this issue of the Journal may be cited as (1991) 2 Ecc.L.J.

All rights in this publication are reserved. It may not be reproduced or transmitted in whole or in part, for sale or otherwise, in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording, or storage in any retrieval system, without written permission from the Ecclesiastical Law Society.

Copies of this Journal, including back issues, may be obtained by libraries and individual non-members, from the Ecclesiastical Law Society, or from Messrs. Wm. W. Gaunt and Sons Inc., Gaunt Building, 3011 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Florida 34127-2199, U.S.A., who are sole distribution agents for the Journal to non-members in North America.

The current price for individual copies of the Journal (other than those which are supplied free of charge to members) is £7.50 per copy within the United Kingdom, inclusive of postage. Details of overseas rates may be obtained from the Ecclesiastical Law Society or from Wm. W. Gaunt and Sons Inc.

Typeset in Times Roman on Linotype CRTronic by M. G. Hillson Printers. Printed by M. G. Hillson Printers, 22 St. Martin's Street, Peterborough. Telephone (0733) 67658. Facsimile (0733) 558187.

ECCLESIASTICAL LAW SOCIETY

Patrons

The Most Rev. and Rt. Hon. the Lord Archbishop of Canterbury The Most Rev. and Rt. Hon. the Lord Archbishop of York

President

The Rt. Rev. the Lord Bishop of Chichester (to 1992)

Elective Officers (to 1992)

CHAIRMAN: The Worshipful Chancellor Quentin Edwards, Q.C.† VICE-CHAIRMAN: The Ven. the Archdeacon of Loughborough† SECRETARY: Peter Beesley, Esq.† DEPUTY SECRETARY (Vacant): TREASURER: David Faull, Esq.†

Executive Officer

The Ven. David Scott[†]

General Committee

The Officers together with: ELECTED: David Cheetham, Esq. (to 1992) The Ven. the Archdeacon of Chesterfield (to 1992) The Worshipful Chancellor William Gage, Q.C. (to 1992) The Worshipful Chancellor Michael Goodman^{‡†} (to 1992) The Rt. Rev. the Bishop of Colchester (to 1993) John Colver, Esq., Q.C. (to 1993) Raymond Hemingray, Esq. (to 1993) John Holden, Esq. (to 1993) The Ven. the Archdeacon of Berkshire (to 1994) The Rev. Canon Peter Boulton (to 1994) Brian Hanson, Esq. (to 1994) David Harte, Esq. (to 1994) CO-OPTED: Graham Phillips, Esq. (to 1992) The Rev. and Worshipful Chancellor Rupert Bursell, Q.C.⁺ (to 1992) Frank Robson, Esq. (to 1992)

† Member of Executive Committee ‡ Chairman of the Editorial Committee