Editors' Notes

FIFTY-THIRD ANNUAL E.H.A. MEETING

The 1993 annual meeting of the Economic History Association will take place in Tucson, Arizona, between October 1 and 3, 1993. The 1993 program committee invites submissions of sessions and papers in response to the program title "The Conceptual Foundations of Economic History: Questioning the Questions and Answering the Answers." Some possible subtopics are as follows: "The Institutional Basis for Economic Growth and Development," "The Application of Econometrics to History," "The Categories of Economic Theory," "Education, Human Capital, and Productivity," "Economic History and Contemporary Problems," and "The Costs and Benefits of Economic Change." The program co-chairs stress that other related topics are welcome and that substantive papers based on research in progress will be preferred to discussions of pure methodology.

Send two copies of abstracts of papers or proposed sessions to Professor Cynthia Taft Morris, Department of Economics, Smith College, Northampton, MA 01063 or to Professor Gavin Wright, Department of Economics, Stanford University, Stanford, CA 94305. For full consideration, proposals must be sent before February 8, 1993. Notices of acceptance will be mailed in late March.

Persons expecting to receive their Ph.D. in the academic year 1992/93 are invited to apply to be considered for inclusion in the panel to the conveners of the dissertation session: Professor Carole Shammas, Department of History, University of California, Riverside, CA 92521 (for North American topics) or Professor Carol E. Heim, Department of Economics, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003 (for all other topics). Finalists for the Allen Nevins and Alexander Gerschenkron prizes present summaries at the meeting. Two copies of completed dissertations will be due by May 31, 1993; final notification will be by July 31, 1993.

AWARDS AT THE 1992 E.H.A. MEETING

At the fifty-second annual meeting of the Economic History Association, held in Boston from September 18 to 20, 1992, the following prizes were awarded.

The Arthur H. Cole Prize for the outstanding article published in this JOURNAL in the September 1991 through June 1992 issues, to Philip T. Hoffman of the California Institute of Technology, for his article "Land Rents and Agricultural Productivity: The Paris Basin, 1450–1789," which appeared in the December 1991 issue. The Cole Prize recipient is selected each year by this JOURNAL's editorial board.

The Allen Nevins Prize for the outstanding dissertation in U.S. or Canadian economic history completed during 1991/92, to Joseph P. Ferrie of Northwestern University, for his "We Are Yankeys Now": The Economic Mobility of Two Thousand Antebellum Immigrants to the U.S.," completed at the University of Chicago under the guidance of David W. Galenson.

The Alexander Gerschenkron Prize for the outstanding dissertation in non-U.S. or Canadian economic history, to Alan Dye of the Universidad Carlos III (Madrid), for his "Tropical Technology and Mass Production: The Expansion of Cuban Central Sugar Mills, 1899–1929," completed at the University of Illinois under the direction of Larry Neal.

The recipients of the Nevins Prize and the Gerschenkron Prize are selected each year by the conveners of the dissertation session at the annual meeting.

The Gyorgy Ranki Book Prize in European Economic History, to Joel Mokyr of Northwestern University, for his The Lever of Riches: Technological Creativity and Economic Progress, published in 1990 by Oxford University Press. This marks the first

937

occasion of this award, which is selected by the Gyorgy Ranki prize committee and announced at the annual meeting.

CALL FOR PAPERS

The Social Science History Association will hold its eighteenth annual conference in Baltimore, Maryland, from November 4 to 7, 1993. Those interested in organizing a panel or presenting a paper should send proposals by February 15, 1993 to either co-chair: Professor Eileen McDonagh, Department of Political Science, Meserve Hall 303, Northeastern University, Boston, MA 02115 (phone 617-495-8140; FAX 617-495-8422; Bitnet EMCD@NUHUB) or Professor Philip J. Ethington, Department of History, Boston University, 226 Bay State Road, Boston, MA 02215 (phone 617-353-2551; FAX 617-353-2556).

E. E. A. MEETING

The annual meetings of the Eastern Economic Association will be held in Washington, DC, from March 19 to 21, 1993. The theme of the program will be "The Relevance or Irrelevance of Economic Analysis for Policy." Those wishing to submit papers or session proposals should contact Professor Alan Blinder, Department of Economics, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ 08544 (phone 609-452-4000). Further details will be announced in the newsletter of the Economic History Association.

FELLOWSHIPS

The State Historical Society of Wisconsin, in conjunction with the Wisconsin History Foundation, is offering the John C. Geilfuss Fellowship for 1993. The fellowship carries an outright stipend of \$5,000, and will be awarded for research at the graduate level and beyond in Milwaukee or Wisconsin business and economic history. The deadline for applications is February 1, 1993. Applicants should submit a resume and a two-page, single-spaced letter of application describing their background and current research project to Dr. Michael Stevens, State Historian, State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 816 State St., Madison, WI 53706.

Young scholars are invited to present summaries of their doctoral research at the *Milan Congress of the International Economic History Association* in September 1994. Summaries of these theses will be published in a volume of the congress proceedings, and four diplomas and four prizes of \$1,000 will be awarded. Candidates must have been awarded their doctorate between September 1, 1988 and December 31, 1992. Interested scholars should write for details without delay to Professor Joseph Goy, General Secretary, International Economic History Association, Centre de Recherches Historiques, 54 boulevard Raspail, 75270 Paris, Cedex 06, France. Please specify the thesis's title, the awarding institution, and the supervisor and assessors in the inquiry, but do not mail theses.