Association News

APSA Information Exchange Project

As part of its effort to improve scientific information exchange in the discipline, the Association recently initiated a project to develop a thesaurus for political science.

The thesaurus is being designed to serve as a vocabulary base for computerized information retrieval systems, where traditional indexing systems are incapable of guiding secondary bibliographic searches. It is the first step in a program sequence that would eventually lead to a vastly improved abstracting service for the discipline as well as a system for machine-searching and individualized dissemination of information.

The development of the thesaurus is being carried out for the Association at the University Center for International Studies, University of Pittsburgh, under the direction of Carl Beck. A five-man APSA Advisory Committee, chaired by Robert E. Lane, Yale, and including as members Samuel Patterson, Iowa, Kenneth Janda, Northwestern, Stein Rokkan, IPSA, and Richard Hofstetter, Ohio State, is responsible for overall direction of the project, which is expected to be completed in one year.

Work is supported under a contract with the National Science Foundation.

Black Graduate Fellowships

The Association has announced twenty-five winners in the competition for the 1972-73 Black Graduate Fellowships in Political Science.

The winners include five Fellows to receive scholarships of \$3,600 for the academic year 1972-73 to attend the university of their choice and twenty non-funded fellows. The non-funded fellows have been recommended to graduate departments of political science as deserving of consideration for fellowships or other financial assistance.

The selections were made by the Committee on Fellowships of the Committee on the Status of Blacks composed of Robert Martin, Chairman, Howard University, Twiley W. Barker, University of Illinois-Chicago Circle, Herbert Sapp, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and Nathaniel Tillman, Olive-Harvey College.

APSA Black Graduate Fellows

Funded Fellows

Tamara Collins, Vassar College Claude Dixon, III, West Georgia College Frank Holmes, III, Tennessee State University Lewis C. Horne, Jr., Dartmouth College Larry White, Tuskegee Institute

Non-Funded Fellows

Carlence Austin, Cheyney State University
Carlence Austin, Cheyney State College
James M. Borden, North Carolina Central University
Ann J. Bush, Tennessee State University
Clarence H. Curry, Jr., Henderson State College
Mary F. Derrick, Florida A & M University
Barbara A. Dolphus, Fisk University
Earl Green, Jr., Tennessee State University
Charles L. Jones, Antioch College
Sherry R. Layton, Spelman College
Eugenia A. Lucas, Howard University
Gloria J. Moody, Texas Southern University
Gail Peek, City College of New York
Adolph L. Reed, Jr., University of North Carolina,
Chapel Hill

Dennis Robinson, Queens College
George T. Russell, University of the Pacific
Keith C. Simmonds, College of the Virgin Islands
Duane R. Taylor, Bowdoin College
Derek C. Wheeler, Dartmouth College
Ernest J. Wilson, III, Harvard College

Congressional Fellowship Program

The Association has announced 15 winners in the national competition for the 1972-73 Congressional Fellowship Program.

The winners—eight political scientists, six journalists, and one law professor—will come to the Nation's Capitol for a year of full-time work in the offices of Senators and Members of the House of Representatives.

Each winner will receive a minimum stipend of \$6,500 for the year. The Program is financed by a Ford Foundation grant, and services of the Fellows are free of charge to the Congressional offices in which they work.

Sponsored by the Association since 1953, the purpose of the Congressional Fellowship Program is to give outstanding young academicians and political journalists an opportunity to further their