

Editorial Office and Address

Editor-in-Chief C. E. M. PEARCE, charles.pearce@adelaide.edu.au

Executive Editor E. HUNT, emma.hunt@adelaide.edu.au

School of Mathematical Sciences, The University of Adelaide, SA 5005, Australia.

Associate Editors

A. P. BASSOM

The University of Western Australia School of Mathematics and Statistics (M019) 35 Stirling Highway Crawley WA 6009 bassom@maths.uwa.edu.au

A. J. BRACKEN
Department of Mathematics
The University of Queensland
St. Lucia QLD 4072
ajb@maths.uq.edu.au

B. D. CRAVEN
Department of Mathematics
The University of Melbourne
VIC 3010

craven@ms.unimelb.edu.au

A. C. EBERHARD
Department of Mathematics
Royal Melbourne Institute of
Technology
GPO Box 2476V
Melbourne VIC 3001
andrew.eberhard@ems.rmit.edu.au

L. K. FORBES
School of Mathematics
and Physics
The University of Tasmania
Hobart TAS 7001
Larry.Forbes@utas.edu.au

J. M. HILL Department of Mathematics The University of Wollongong PO Box 1144 Wollongong NSW 2500 j.hill@uow.edu.au

G. C. HOCKING
Department of Mathematics
and Statistics
Murdoch University
Murdoch WA 6150
hocking@prodigal.murdoch.edu.au

C. A. HURST Department of Physics and Mathematical Physics The University of Adelaide SA 5005

ahurst@physics.adelaide.edu.au

V. JEYAKUMAR
School of Mathematics
University of New South Wales
Sydney NSW 2052
jeya@maths.unsw.edu.au
P. E. KLOEDEN

Fachbereich Mathematik
Johann Wolfgang Goethe
Universität
D-60054 Frankfurt am Main
Germany
kloeden@math.uni-frankfurt.de

M. KRISHNAMOORTHY
CSIRO Mathematical and
Information Sciences
Private Bag 10
Clayton South MDC
VIC 3169
Mohan.Krishnamoorthy@csiro.au

R. MCKIBBIN
Institute of Information
and Mathematical Sciences
Massey University at Albany
Private Bag 102 904
North Shore Mail Centre
Auckland
New Zealand
R.McKibbin@massey.ac.nz

W. MCLEAN
Department of Applied
Mathematics
University of New South Wales
Sydney NSW 2052
W.Mclean@unsw.edu.au

P. K. POLLETT
Department of Mathematics
The University of Queensland
QLD 4072

pkp@maths.uq.edu.au D. RALPH

D. RALPH
The Judge Institute of
Management Studies
Cambridge University
Trumpington St
Cambridge CB2 1AG
England
dr241@cam.ac.uk

H. M. SRIVASTAVA
Department of Mathematics
and Statistics
University of Victoria
Victoria B.C. V8W 3P4
Canada
hmsri@uvym.uvic.ca

K. L. TEO
Department of Mathematics
and Statistics
Curtin University
of Technology
GPO Box U 1987, Perth
WA 6845
K.L.Teo@curtin.edu.au

A. TORDESILLAS
Department of Mathematics
The University of Melbourne
VIC 3010
A. Tordesillas @ms. unimelb.edu. au

J.-M. VANDEN-BROECK School of Mathematics The University of East Anglia Norwich NR4 7TJ, England J.Vanden-Broeck@uea.ac.uk

G. C. WAKE
Centre for Mathematics
in Industry
Massey University at Albany
Private Bag 102 904
North Shore Mail Centre
Auckland, New Zealand
g.c.wake@massey.ac.nz

G. J. WEIR
Applied Mathematics Centre
Industrial Research Ltd
PO Box 31310
Lower Hutt
New Zealand
g.weir@irl.cri.nz

Cover design by HILARY BOOTH.

THE ANZIAM JOURNAL

Volume 47 Part 2 OCTOBER 2005

B. D. Craven	143
Saddle point criteria and duality in multiobjective programming via an η-approximation method Tadeusz Antczak	155
Analysis of the Michaelis-Menten mechanism in an immobilised enzyme reactor M. I. Nelson, X. D. Chen and M. J. Sexton	173
Unsteady flow induced by a withdrawal point beneath a free surface T. E. Stokes, G. C. Hocking and L. K. Forbes	185
A comparison principle and stability for large-scale impulsive delay dif- ferential systems Xinzhi Liu, Xuemin Shen and Yi Zhang	203
A boundary value problem for second-order nonlinear difference equations on the integers F. Dal and G. Sh. Guseinov	237
Periodic solutions of a nonlinear oscillatory system with two degrees of freedom Zhengqiu Zhang, Yusen Zhu and Biwen Li	249
Flowshop/no-idle scheduling to minimise the mean flowtime Laxmi Narain and P. C. Bagga	265
Diversity sensitivity and multimodal Bayesian statistical analysis by relative entropy Pow R. Leipnik and C. F. M. Pearce	277

Set by the Australian Mathematical Publishing Association Inc. Printed by Instant Colour Press, Canberra, Australia. The Journal of the Australian Mathematical Society began publication in 1959, and from 1975 appeared in two series, Series A (Pure Mathematics and Statistics) and Series B (Applied Mathematics). Series B is now The ANZIAM Journal and is published in volumes comprising four quarterly parts. There is also a fifth (electronic) part designed for rapid publication (http://jamsb.austms.org.au/). Editor: A. J. ROBERTS, Department of Mathematics & Computing, University of Southern Queensland, Toowoomba, QLD 4350; aroberts@usq.edu.au. All five parts are refereed. All accepted papers have the option of publication in the electronic part. Information about Series A and other publications of the Society may be found on the inside back cover.

It is the editorial policy of The ANZIAM Journal to consider papers in any field of applied mathematics and related mathematical sciences. Novel applications of mathematics in real situations are especially welcomed. All papers should include some indication of applicability, and an introduction that can be understood by non-specialist readers from the whole applied mathematical community.

Manuscripts (four copies) for publication should be sent to the editor or to an appropriate associate editor at the address given on the inside front cover. Such action is a representation by the author that the manuscript has not been copyrighted or published, and that it is not being considered for publication elsewhere. Please do not make initial submissions electronically.

Authors are asked to read the section "Preparation of Manuscripts" on the last page.

Irrespective of the number of authors, 20 free offprints of each copy are provided; additional offprints may be ordered at the expense of the authors.

Excessive costs incurred by the Society through corrections to or withdrawal of articles may be charged to the authors concerned.

The ANZIAM Journal (ISSN 1446-1811) is published quarterly for A\$335.50 (Members A\$53.90) per annum by the Australian Mathematical Society, Mathematics Department, Australian National University, ACT 0200, Australia. Send address change notices to Dr A. Howe, Journal of the Australian Mathematical Society, Mathematics Department, Australian National University, ACT 0200, Australia.