## A C K N O W L E D G E M E N T S

We wish to thank the financial support of the International Astronomical Union Executive Committee, the Royal Society of New Zealand, the University of Canterbury and the Kingdon-Tomlinson trust. Some of this enabled the IAU and the Scientific Organising Committee to provide travel support to this astronomical outpost in the south seas. The symposium was sponsored by International Astronomical Union Commissions 9 (astronomical instruments) and 25 (stellar photometry) and the Royal Astronomical Society of New Zealand.

The members of the Scientific and Local Orangizing Committees are listed below. The success of the symposium was due to their efforts and also to those of 133 participants from 21 countries.

Scientific Organizing Committee J.A. Graham (Chairman), D.F. Gray, J.B. Hearnshaw, M. Mayor, R.L. Millis, E.B. Newell, S. Nishimura, S.M. Runcinski, B. Warner, S.J. Yang.

Local Organizing Committee J.B. Hearnshaw (Chairman), P.L. Cottrell, A.C. Gilmore, H.M. Melville, C.H. Rowe, B.A. Sansom, D.B. Sparks, A.W.F. Thynne, S.M. Usher.

In addition to the above committee members there was a large group of helpers from the Physics Department at the University of Canterbury who helped in the final stages of the organisation of this symposium: Martin Begley, Sven Brabyn, Beverley Bristowe, Mike Clark, Geoff Costello, Gill Evans, Pam Kilmartin, Bryan Lawrence, Derek Lipyeat, Vincent McIntyre, Kirsten Nissen, Sean Ryan, Andrew Taylor and Alex Wynne. To these people we extend our thanks.

> J.B.H. P.L.C.