Kick-off editorial for 2014: Thanks to our reviewers

Stephen M. Stahl



CNS Spectrums has now completed its second year of publication since purchase by Cambridge University Press and since my appointment as the new editorin-chief. 2013 was a very eventful year for the journal, as it expanded from 4 issues to 7 (including the CME issue), with 2 thematic issues (bipolar depression and mood disorders) and 4 issues with general topics. Manuscript flow is now very good, thanks in no small part to the incredible efforts of our field editors and various members of the editorial board who have contributed articles, or in several cases, have guest edited an entire thematic issue. These contributions already generate numerous downloads from the journal's website and promise to enhance our impact factor as the articles generated since the relaunch begin to contribute to the calculation of our impact factor, although the full impact of the relaunch will not be felt on the impact factor calculation for another year.

We are especially pleased with publishing increasing numbers of short, readable, illustrated reviews on topics of general interest to a broad readership and several key original data articles. We have several special thematic issues planned already for 2014. Due to this increased flow of manuscripts, we will increase the number of articles per issue in 2014 from 5 to 8 or 9, retaining the every other month print publication schedule, plus a seventh CME (Continuing Medical Education) issue in December for 2014. We will also continue to publish the abstracts of the annual Neuroscience Education Institute's Psychopharmacology Congress, as we have for 2011 through 2013.

Our team of field editors has recently expanded to include Thomas Schlaepfer and Joseph Goldberg, and Gerry Sanacora has rotated off. Many thanks to Gerry for his service getting the journal relaunched, and we look forward to continuing to work with him on the general editorial board. Terry Ketter and Carlos Zarate continue as field editors for 2014, and Tom Schwartz will continue as deputy editor. Without their help and the support of the entire editorial board and the submissions of our authors, we could not have come this far. Of course, the unsung heroes of any journal are the reviewers. In addition to members of the editorial board, whom we thank for shouldering a disproportionate share of the reviewing tasks, we sought many of our reviews from a number of other scholars. We wish to acknowledge our heartfelt appreciation to all those who returned reviews during 2013. Their names are listed below.

Finally, I wish also to thank Cambridge University Press. Our content editor Lisa Arrington is the vital center of action for CNS Spectrums, and her hard work and continuous advocacy for the journal keep everything on track and moving forward. Meredith Clark in production oversees a flawless and often last minute production operation for us. Aaron Johnson, Senior Editor, Science, Technology and Medical (STM) Journals, has added a refined element of professionality and experience in journal editing. We also enjoy the full throated support of John Pescatore, Director of Journals for the Americas. Without the help of these individuals and many more at Cambridge University Press, the progress of CNS Spectrums in the past year would not have been possible. I am looking forward to the journal moving ahead in 2014 and beyond, again with thanks to so many of you for making it possible.

List of reviewers' names:

Hans Agren Umberto Albert

Mohammad Asuwaidan

Dianne Bautista

Mauro Giovanni Carta

Cristina Cusin

Irismar Reis de Oliveira Dominique de Quervain Maria Conceição do Rosario

Brodie Dunlap Vanja Duric Andrea Fagiolini Jan Fawcett Phillippe Fossati Pierre Flor Henry

Mark Frye Joseph Goldberg Joshua Grill Kevin Hill Ana Hounie Hans Hovens René Kahn Joshua Kantrowitz Ernst Koster

Falk Lohoff Rodrigo Machado-Vieira

Daniel Maixner Gail Manos

John Lauriello

Donatella Marazziti

Samantha Meltzer-Brody

Lisa Monteggia David Muzina Jeffrey Newcorn Maren Nyer Gina Owens George Papakostas Rodrigo Patino George Perry Angelo Picardi Oliver Robinson William Sauvé **Gustav Schelling** Thomas Schulze Tom Schwartz Richard Shelton Steven Simring Manpreet Singh Dorothy Sit Karla Soares Rafael Sousa **Zachary Stowe** Ronnie Swift Frank Tarazi

Biju Viswanath Jerry Warsh Terri Weaver

Michael Thase

Johannes Thome

Mark D. Williams