## Editors' Notes

At the 24th annual meeting of the Economic History Association, the membership elected Henry Rosovsky, Val Lorwin, and Alfred Chandler to the Council on Research in Economic History.

The program committee for the 25th annual meeting of the Association in 1965 will be made up of Ralph Andreano (chairman), Stuart Bruchey, John Hughes, Morris D. Morris, and George Dalton.

Richard H. Tilly, of the Department of Economics at the University of Michigan, has been announced as winner of the second biennial Gay Prize. The award was made for his manuscript entitled "Financial Institutions and Industrialization in the Rhineland, 1815-1870," which will be published by the University of Wisconsin Press.

An honorable mention in the same competition was awarded to Stephan Thernstrom, Harvard University Department of History and Literature, for an essay which has since been published by Harvard University Press under the title, *Poverty and Progress: Social Mobility in a Nineteenth Century City*.

The University of Delaware, in cooperation with the Eleutherian Mills-Hagley Foundation, will award next April two or more Hagley Museum Fellowships for the academic years 1965-1967. Recipients take graduate work in history and related fields at the University; in addition, they conduct research at the Eleutherian Mills Historical Library and receive training in museum work. The two year program, leading to a Master of Arts in American history, is of special interest to those wishing to study the development of American industry and technology.

Each fellowship, carrying an annual stipend of \$2,000, is renewable upon satisfactory completion of the first year. Applications should be received by March 5, 1965. For further details, address the Chairman, Department of History, University of Delaware, Newark, Delaware.