

FIGURE 2. A group of prominent IAU Symposium 112 participants, from the Symposium Banquet. From left to right: Edward M. Purcell, Nobel laureate, co-discoverer of the 21 cm hydrogen line; Philip Morrison, co-author of the 1959 pioneering paper on SETI that ushered the experimental era; Carl Sagan, distinguished scientist and author, Banquet speaker; Michael D. Papagiannis, President of IAU Commission 51 and organizer of the Symposium; Frank D. Drake, conducted the first radio search (Project Ozma, 1960), and Vice President of IAU Commission 51.