To meet this type of problem, spokesmen for such study groups should write to the Program Chairman, sketching the kind of program plans they envisage. Often it will be possible to pass such correspondence to one of the section chairmen, who will be able to accommodate them within the plans he has for a set of panels. In other cases, it may be possible to fix a time outside the regular panel sequence when such groups of "likeminded" scholars can meet.

Black Graduate Fellowships

The Association has announced twenty-five winners in the competition for the 1971-72 Black Graduate Fellowships in Political Science.

The winners include five Fellows to receive scholarships of \$3,600 for the academic year 1971-72 to attend the university of their choice and twenty honorary fellows. The honorary fellows have been recommended to graduate departments of political science as deserving of consideration for fellowships or other financial assistance.

Funded Black Graduate Fellows

James B. Eaglin, Grambling College

Creighton W. Lee, Baldwin-Wallace College

Georgia A. Persons, Southern University

Jules S. Trapp, Howard University

Donald L. Tryman, California Polytechnical State College

Honorary APSA Black Graduate Fellows

Ernest H. Adams, New York University

James Bailey, San Jose State College

Jan L. Batiste, University of Oregon

Carole A. Belk, Howard University

Charles E. Bell, Antioch College

Camille E. Brewer, Lincoln University

Carolyn S. Currie, Grambling College

Milton C. Davis, Tuskegee Institute

Elizabeth L. Ellis, Florida A & M University

Helen L. Forrester, Long Island University

Sheila F. Harmon, Southern University

Murel M. Jones, David Lipscomb College

Johnny Lawton, University of California, Riverside

Earl R. Niles, Brandeis University

Michael C. Rogers, University of Nice

Mary Sapp, Florida A & M University

Carolyn A. Stamps, Tougaloo College

Edward Thompson, University of Arizona

Jacqueline M. Washington, Howard University

Shirley M. Washington, Howard University

Congressional Fellowship Program

The Association has announced 16 winners in the national competition for the 1971-72 Congressional Fellowship Program.

The winners—eight political scientists and eight journalists—will come to the Nation's Capitol for a year of full-time work in the offices of Senators and Members of the House of Representatives.

Each winner will receive a minimum stipend of \$6,500 for the year. The Program is financed by a Ford Foundation grant, and services of the Fellows are free of charge to the Congressional offices in which they work.

Sponsored by the Association since 1953, the purpose of the Congressional Fellowship Program is to give outstanding young academicians and political journalists an opportunity to further their knowledge of the national legislative process. Other participants for the 1971-72 Congressional Fellowship Program, Asian Fellows, Harkness Fellows, and Federal Service Fellows, will be named later in the year.

The Congressional Fellows are scheduled to arrive here in mid-November for a six-week orientation period. They will begin working in Congressional offices of their choice about January 1, 1972. The Program ends August 15, 1972.

The 16 winners were selected on the basis of superior academic training and experience. Final selections were made by an Advisory Committee made up of top government officials, Washington newsmen, and political scientists.

Political Scientists

Charles S. Bullock, 28, Assistant Professor of Political Science, University of Georgia.

Stephen A. Merrill, 27, Ph.D. Candidate, Yale University.

Bruce W. Robeck, 31, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Texas A & M University.

David Seidman, 28, Ph.D. Candidate, Yale University.

Mark A. Siegel, 24, Ph.D., Candidate, Northwestern University

Thomas Vocino, 30, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Eastern Illinois University.

Robert J. Ward, 29, Ph.D. Candidate, University of Missouri.

Thomas R. Wolanin, 28, Ph.D. Candidate, Harvard University.

Journalists

Michael S. Alonge, 28, National and Foreign News desk, *New York Daily News.*

Michael J. Bennett, 34, Reporter, Boston Record-American.

Lance Brisson, 27, Freelance Investigative Reporter.

Ben Burns, 30, Night city editor, Miami Herald.

Mikel K. Miller, 27, Bureau manager, *United Press International*, Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

Edward D. Murnane, 27, State Editor and political reporter, Paddock Publications.

Joanne B. Omang, 28, Night New England editor, *United Press International*.

Richard D. Robinett, 28, Political and Public Affairs Reporter, *Elkhart Truth*.

Undergraduate Education Improvement Program in Political Science

An Association proposal for a major program to improve undergraduate education in political science is being submitted to the National Science Foundation following its recent approval by the Council.

The proposal requests support to establish a Commission on Undergraduate Education in

Political Science (CUEPS) aimed at improving undergraduate political science education in colleges and universities throughout the country. It would be similar to programs supported by NSF in fields such as Biology, Physics, and Mathematics. The Commission, under the auspices of the American Political Science Association, will have as its primary objectives the stimulation of interest, the generation of materials, and the dissemination of information helpful in upgrading political science instruction in a variety of institutional settings. Two Committees, Undergraduate Curriculum (with subcommittees on the Non-Major, Two-Year College, Predominantly Black Colleges) and College Teacher Training, and five task forces, Field Work and Internships, Library Requirements, Mathematical and Statistical Training, Audio-visual Instructional Materials, and Laboratory and Computer-assisted Instruction, are proposed as the primary working aims of CUEPS. The proposal also contains provisions for a Division of Educational Affairs within the American Political Science Association.

This effort is an outgrowth of the Association's renewed interest in undergraduate education during the last several years. As a part of this interest, a Committee on Undergraduate Instruction, chaired by William Buchanan of Washington & Lee University, was appointed over a year ago to address the problems of undergraduate teaching; it published a report, "Conceptual Analysis," in the Summer 1970 PS. In December 1970, a number of political scientists assembled in Washington under the Chairmanship of Robert E. Lane for a Conference on Political Science Education. Those attending were Gabriel A. Almond, Walter E. Beach, William Buchanan, John P. Crecine, William J. Daniels, Ithiel de Sola Pool, David Easton, Heinz Eulau, Richard F. Fenno, Donald G. Herzberg, Richard I. Hofferbert, Matthew Holden, Jr., Robert J. Huckshorn, Charles S. Hyneman, Tobe Johnson, Evron M. Kirkpatrick, Thomas E. Mann, J. Roland Pennock, Lucian W. Pye, Austin Ranney, Melvin Richter, Donald E. Stokes, Gordon Tullock, Vernon B, Van Dyke, and Robert E. Lane, Chairman. Also present were Alfred Borg and William A. Lucas, National Science Foundation; Robert Gagne, Florida State University; and Edward Kormandy, Commission on Undergraduate Education in Biological Sciences. The major objectives of the meeting were to identify the most pressing educational needs at the undergraduate level and to propose a program that would effectively address those needs. The proposal being submitted to NSF represents