GEOLOGICAL MAGAZINE

VOLUME LXII.

No. III.—MARCH, 1925.

EDITORIAL NOTES.

AT the Annual General Meeting of the Geological Society of London, held on Friday, 20th February, 1925, Dr. J. W. Evans was re-elected President for a second year. Sir Thomas Holland was elected a Vice-President in place of Professor W. W. Watts, and Professor J. E. Marr was appointed to the office of Foreign Secretary, vacant by the death of Sir Archibald Geikie. The new members of the Council are Mr. T. Crook, Professor W. G. Fearnsides, Professor W. T. Gordon, Mr. H. W. Monckton, and Dr. A. E. Trueman. The President delivered his annual address, the subject being Regions of Tension, evidenced by jointing, normal faulting, dykes, basalt flows, dolerite sills, and alkaline igneous rocks. Tension is either local or regional. The causes of the former were briefly discussed, but chief stress was laid on tension prevailing over extensive regions. In Western Europe and the Atlantic a roughly eastand-west tension prevailed during Mesozoic and especially Kainozoic times, and there was westerly drift of the land-masses, increasing in amount from Central Europe westwards. There was a widening of the distance between Western Europe and the North Atlantic central ridge, with consequent broadening and deepening of the trough between. Similar evolution took place between the central ridge and the American continent, where also there are evidences of Hercynian tension. These changes were accompanied by partial submergence of the marginal rocks and an almost complete submergence of the central ridge, which apparently had been land since Devonian time. The evidence for regional tension in other parts of the world, especially Africa, was then briefly reviewed and the causes which gave rise to regional tension were discussed.

The Annual General Meeting of the Geologists' Association was held on 6th February, 1925. Mr. E. E. S. Brown, F.G.S., 22 Wisteria Road, Lewisham, S.E. 13, is the new General Secretary in place of Mr. W. Wright, resigned, while Mr. G. S. Sweeting, F.G.S., becomes Secretary of the Publications Committee. After presenting the Foulerton Award to Mr. A. L. Leach, F.G.S., as already announced, the President, Mr. H. Dewey, F.G.S., delivered an address on "The Mineral Zones of Cornwall", illustrated by lantern slides.